AOTY 2017
Under Color of Official Right
Protomartyr - Under Color of Official Right
Critic Score
Based on 12 reviews
2014 Ratings: #65 / 828
User Score
Based on 141 ratings
2014 Ratings: #51
Your Review
Dec 18, 2017
Better stuff out there
May 2, 2017
Under Color of Official Right is a classic post-punk album in the tradition of Joy Division at it's heart—but with surprisingly heavy moments sprinkled throughout. Brutal, bleak lyrics delivered in a dreary yell make for a fitting accompaniment to tom-heavy percussion and dense guitar work.

If you've got an itch for post-punk, this album can scratch it.
Jul 1, 2016
One of the best!
Feb 8, 2016
Essential Tracks - What the Wall Said // Scum, Rise! // Come & See
Jan 31, 2016
Fourteen tracks is a quite a decently long album. To have each of those fourteen songs clearly stand out independent of one another yet persist such a powerful thematic mood is a total triumph. Within a genre with such a long history as post-punk, Under Color of Official Right is not only memorable but refreshing
Track List
  1. Maidenhead
  2. Ain't So Simple
  3. Want Remover
  4. Trust Me Billy
  5. Pagans
  6. What the Wall Said
  7. Tarpeian Rock
  8. Bad Advice
  9. Son of Dis
  10. Scum, Rise!
  11. I Stare at Floors
  12. Come & See
  13. Violent
  14. I'll Take That Applause

Added on: March 31, 2014