AOTY 2017
The xx - Coexist
Coexist
75
User Score (315)
Your Review
Reviews
Ratings
Oct 16, 2016
TCG1974
72
The first album was a pleasant surprise, this one was also pleasant, but without the surprise element it becomes kind of dull
Jun 4, 2013
simpsonIan
80
A more-than-just-solid follow-up to their striking 2009 debut. If you fault COEXIST for not braving much new territory, then at least give the mega-talented duo cred for providing a sparkling rejuvenation to a facet of electro-pop that has been worked into the ground by far-less inspired acts. (Admittedly, I pondered: if the entire album had taken unexpected flight the way that the rapturous "Swept Away" does, COEXIST might have been one for the books.)
Sep 9, 2012
JustinSlick
78
Not exactly *bad* music, but after their s/t this is disappointing.
Jun 5, 2014
kennethlovesmus
91
another amazing album by the XX.
Jan 16, 2017
exception
50
The quintessential "hipster indie kid" album. I remember when this came out that it was jerked off on all over tumblr, people practically fetishized oil spills and this perfectly symmetrical x logo.
With all of that aside, none of the music on Coexist is special at all. Absolutely none of it improves on what was initially presented on xx, and it actually got even more bland and lifeless. I'm not gonna act like this is an absolutely terrible project, but it is a shame to see that ... read more
Jan 13, 2017
BuffaloStaple
41
Everything I said about their debut applies to this one too, only worse this time.
Dec 25, 2016
thethirdverse
69
cool concept, but most of it feels like a rehashing of their first record, but like less interesting. it's a good thing that sonically this thing is as good as their debut.

best: angels, reunion, sunset, tides, swept away
worst: chained, fiction
Sep 9, 2017
aaron
75
Fiction
Jul 5, 2017
letitbelau
73
Great album for introspection and relaxing. I am utterly in love with the instrumental background mixed with quiet and melodic voices. It's sort of melancholic, romantic and highly intimate. In addition, the pauses within the beats of most of the songs make it more meaningful but at the middle-end of the album, it starts to feel quite slow and it's difficult to differentiate.

Best: Angels, Try
Worst: Tides
Jul 1, 2017
a1n2d3r4e5morei
77
The XX - Coexist
(95%)
1. Angels (93)
2. Chained (73)
3. Fiction (80)
4. Try (76)
5. Reunion (78)
6. Sunset (83)
7. Missing (85)
8. Tides (58)
9. Unfold (70)
10. Sweept Away (81)
11. Our Song (82)

Bonus Track (5%)
12. Reconsider (61)

Final Score: 77,24
Jun 22, 2017
76fex
NR
*yawns*
Mar 28, 2017
Felindie
70
Fav Tracks: Sunset, Chained
Jan 27, 2017
NR
.... The XCXO...
Jan 16, 2017
cshults
65
It's a good album, but nothing here grabs me like the first album. I found myself going back to their debut more times than not.
Jan 11, 2017
TheSoftBulletin
67
nothing new, nothing memorable
Nov 22, 2016*
ryansliao
40
I like the more vibrant production but I was asleep by the end.

Best Tracks: Angels, Reunion
Worst Tracks: Chained
Sep 8, 2012
thosecolours
45
After an astonishing debute, this was a real letdown, even if usually the second album can't live up to the high standards of the first. It's just bland and boring.
showing 1 - 17 of 17 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
27

80-89
 
85

70-79
 
134

60-69
 
39

50-59
 
16

40-49
 
11

30-39
 
1

20-29
 
2

10-19
 

0-9
 

78%of users like this album
1%of users don't like this album
Popular Now
Charli XCX
Pop 2
Brockhampton
Saturation III
Eminem
Revival
Kendrick Lamar
DAMN.
Slowdive
Slowdive
LCD Soundsystem
American Dream

Songs of 2017 Playlist
AOTY Discord
Forums