Frank Ocean - Channel Orange

Frank Ocean - Channel Orange
USER SCORE
86
Based on 613 user reviews
2012 Rank: #3
2012 R&B: #1
FOLLOW SCORE
NR
Not logged in
CRITIC SCORE
92
What Do You Think?
RATE:
Log In
Save

User Reviews

Apr 23, 2015
SherlockMHolmes
95
dude how are Earl's features always fire
Aug 21, 2016*
BuffaloStaple
96
This is among my favourite R&B albums of all time, a fantastic body of work right here imo. Kinda sucks how we finally find a great songwriter in mainstream music, and then he goes and ditches us.

EDIT: never mind he back
Jan 1, 2016
FinalLifeline
95
Frank has been in hiding since the tail end of Channel Orange's runaway success, and it's easy to see why. It's a big album to follow up, and there are high expectations. Channel Orange is an excellent record, decidedly one of the best R&B albums in a long while, if not the best. Frank has one of the current era's most distinctive songwriting voices, and that talent is what makes the album so good. There is hardly a track here that isn't great (apart from "Monks", which has always ... read more
Sep 20, 2013
SeenYourVideo
92
Channel Orange is engrossing with original and demanding flavor from the superb and talented new kid on the block, Frank Ocean. 2012's best? Without a doubt.
Aug 19, 2016
jpaps96
94
i get the hype now wow
May 17, 2016
MoistNarwhal
93
Ocean always sounds fresh on this record, appealing to our humanity and creating great romantic classics.
An ambitious album, executed brilliantly no matter the mood.
Oct 7, 2015
Jx
100
pyramids is a masterpiece within a masterpiece
Aug 24, 2014
austincrane235
92
Best Track: Thinkin Bout You, Super Rich Kids, Pilot Jones, Crack Rock, Pyramids, Lost, Bad Religion, or Forrest Gump
Worst Track: Monks
Most Overrated Track: Sweet Life
Most Underrated Track: Sierra Leone

Thoughtful and detailed, the 26-minute stretch from Super Rich Kids to Lost is one of the greatest moments in all of contemporary R&B
Aug 25, 2016
Diosglosia
88
Es inevitable, al hablar de Frank Ocean, hablar de uno de las caras más visibles del R&B internacional. Entrábamos ya en 2013, incluso en 2014, cuando decidí darle una oportunidad al rap, y poco después llegó a mis manos esto. Channel ORANGE. Un disco que en poco tiempo, tanto a nivel objetivo como sentimental, se convirtió en uno de mis discos favoritos. Si bien sigo adorándolo tanto como el primer día, la experiencia y las escuchas ... read more
Aug 23, 2016
GratedStraws
100
Frank's Purple Rain. I don't need to say anymore.
Aug 21, 2016
danielleandrea
91
1. Start 0.75
2. Thinkin Bout You 1.00
3. Fertilizer 0.95
4. Sierra Leone 0.87
5. Sweet Life 1.00
6. Not Just Money 1.00
7. Super Rich Kids (feat. Earl Sweatshirt) 1.00
8. Pilot Jones 0.93
9. Crack Rock 0.92
10. Pyramids 1.00
11. Lost 1.00
12. White (feat. John Mayer) 0.77
13. Monks 0.89
14. Bad Religion 0.93
15. Pink Matter (feat. André 3000) 0.76
16. Forrest Gump 0.98
17. End 0.74

Favorite songs: Thinkin Bout You, Fertilizer, Super Rich Kids, Sweet Life, Pyramids, Lost, Bad Religion
Jul 28, 2016
70
almost overwhelmingly easy listening. lush but uneventful
Jul 16, 2016
FearFlower
100
IT'S A MASTERPIECE OF RNB DETAILING FAME, SEX, DRUGS, AND EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN THIS TRINITY OF YOUNG STARDOM.
HEARTFELT AND POWERFUL AND ALL OF THE FEATURES ARE LIT.
May 16, 2016
noonoo97
71
A lot of my friends love this album but to be honest I think its overrated. Maybe its because I cant relate the lyrics or maybe its because normally I cant stand R&B. His voice is obviously very good but quite poppy and timberlake like at times. The beats are simple and standard and nothing risky about this album at all. I can see why the iTunes warrior would think this is the best thing ever but in reality its overrated. But the album is an easy listen and quite pleasant on the ears and ... read more
May 15, 2016
89
honestly i can't even judge this objectively that falsetto is godly
May 9, 2016
chuyin49
78
Frank Ocean is definitely one of the best singers/songwriters of our generation. I'm not a Huge fan of r&b so I couldn't really appreciate the album as much as people praise it to be. After a couple listens though, I ended up enjoying the album more than I thought I would.

Fav songs: Thinking About You, Pyramids, Lost
Apr 29, 2016
uzimandias
91
I miss this man, #findfrank

This album is really good, like really good.
Feb 29, 2016
90
Ocean manages to create a beautiful debut album which showcases his vulnerability and crisp vocals. Channel Orange is wonderfully written and its relaxing vibe makes it thoroughly enjoyable to listen to. Hopefully Frank will soon release his sophomore album, and if it is a fraction as good as this project, it will be one of the albums of the year
Feb 19, 2016
GRCamden
85
Really impressive vocal performance from Frank Ocean here, and for the most part is superbly written and produced as well, I just felt a few tracks had the tendency to meander a little bit (Pyramids, Forrest Gump, Pilot Jones) but overall, it's a great piece of work, can't wait for his forthcoming follow up album.
Jan 23, 2016
95
Still sounding, very, very good!
Dec 18, 2015
SiberianBreaks
75
Frank Ocean's debut album really had nearly all of the qualities of a classic. The features on here are spectacular, the psychedelic production is textured and oozes sex, and Frank as a vocalist is near-perfect. The way the songs are arranged on here are strange though. There are too many mediocre interludes overall and they mostly dominate the first half. Because of this, the flow is so all over the place. Frank's got a classic-worthy sound on here, but there's still a whole lot of trimming ... read more
Oct 24, 2015
exception
87
as far as r&b goes, this is a gem. ocean has an amazing voice, deep but can be high at times. he has a perfect balance of pop and hip-hop in his production. and his songwriting skills are near unmatched, making him some kind of lyrical wunderkind. this LP is incredible, and i see now why people are pissed that his next album hasn't dropped yet.
fav tracks: sweet life, super rich kids, pyramids, pink matter
Sep 20, 2015
hemyge
81
Fav tracks: Super Rich Kids, Pyramids, Bad Religion, Pink Matter
Jun 14, 2015
SirBarxAL0T
85
Good album indeed. It has a freshness and originality to it for R&B. Some of the instrumentals are just heavenly. Though the emotions of Frank are not hard hitting to me, it still serves as an adventurous album that you are certain to get reactions out of in the first listen. The production is great, and sets up a great environment. A real stand out.
Favorite Tracks: Thinkin Bout You, Sweet Life, Super Rich Kids, Pyramids, White, Pink Matter
showing 1 - 25 of 613 user reviews

Frank Ocean - Blonde

Blonde

Frank Ocean - Nikes

Nikes

Frank Ocean - Endless

Endless

Frank Ocean - Super Rich Kids

Super Rich Kids

Frank Ocean - Pyramids

Pyramids

Frank Ocean - Thinkin Bout You

Thinkin Bout You

Frank Ocean - Novacane

Novacane

Frank Ocean - Nostalgia, Ultra.

Nostalgia, Ultra.

Premature Evaluation: Frank Ocean 'Blonde'
Premature Evaluation: Frank Ocean 'Blonde'
Frank Ocean Drops New Album 'Blonde'
Frank Ocean Drops New Album 'Blonde'
Watch the video for Frank Ocean's new track 'Nikes'
Watch the video for Frank Ocean's new track 'Nikes'
Frank Ocean’s New Visual Album "Endless" Features Jonny Greenwood, James Blake, Jazmine Sullivan, Arca, Sampha, and more
Frank Ocean’s New Visual Album "Endless" Features Jonny Greenwood, James Blake, Jazmine Sullivan, Arca, Sampha, and more
Frank Ocean Unveils 'Endless' Visual Album Stream
Frank Ocean Unveils 'Endless' Visual Album Stream
Frank Ocean New Album 'Boys Don't Cry' Coming This Week
Frank Ocean New Album 'Boys Don't Cry' Coming This Week
RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
314

80-89
 
193

70-79
 
65

60-69
 
18

50-59
 
8

40-49
 
4

30-39
 
2

20-29
 
2

10-19
 
3

0-9
 
4

93%of users like this album
1%of users don't like this album
USERS WHO LIKE Channel Orange ALSO LIKE
Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Kendrick Lamar - good kid, m.A.A.d. city
Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp a Butterfly
Kanye West - Yeezus


Radiohead - In Rainbows
Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires of the City
Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavilion
Tame Impala - Lonerism