11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory
Dropkick Murphys - 11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory
Critic Score
Based on 6 reviews
2017 Rank: #193 / 624
User Score
Based on 49 ratings
January 6, 2017 / Release Date
LP / Format
Born & Bred / Label
Your Review



Dropkicks ninth effort succeeds in being moving, relevant, biting, witty and most importantly of all, a half hour of damn fun drinking music.

Drowned in Sound

Their output remains honest, unsullied and socially conscious – it’s still got all the bark and bared teeth of a Boston terrier, and the drinking songs are still out in force, but there’s a message of hope at its core that espouses all the values that are held so dear to the contemporary punk scene.


At this point in their careers, the boys are experts at what they do: Pogues-meets-Rancid singalongs for working-class Southie rabble to soundtrack evenings of booze-soaked revelry and camaraderie. They do not disappoint on 11 Short Stories. In fact, this release ends up being the most stylistically varied -- as far as Dropkick goes -- of their catalog.


Loss and the possibility of redemption represent the twin themes of pain and glory fueling the Celtic-punk band’s ninth album, a collection of songs by turns bleak and triumphant—and sometimes both at once.


Whilst this emotional look back might suggest they’ve got one foot in the grave, there’s plenty of fight left yet. In the past, this would have taken the form of furious punk, but this time around the Dropkicks have expanded their sound out into something far grander than anything they’ve attempted before.


11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory is a timely record, filled with anthems of support and community that will resonate with the band’s fanbase, and may attract new listeners looking for messages of hope and recovery—and perhaps tinged with a fight!

Sep 23, 2017
In these eleven short stories, there is no glory. Only the listener's pain.
Jul 5, 2017
Starts great, becomes very mediocre, then gets good again. Not bad of an album at all.
Jun 11, 2017
Although their intentions are good, their lack of finesse and creative drive within a massive sound resulted in a boring, underwhelming album. My Score: 93/180 (Deficient) = 52/100
Mar 17, 2017
1. The Lonesome Boatman 90/100
2. Rebels with a Cause 80/100
3. Blood 50/100
4. Sandlot 70/100
5. First Class Loser 75/100
6. Paying My Way 55/100
7. I Had a Hat 80/100
8. Kicked to the Curb 75/100
9. You'll Never Walk Alone 97/100
10. 4-15-13 35/100
11. Until the Next Time 80/100

Score: 71/100
Mar 16, 2017
Dropkick Murphys return with guts full of beer and throats full of glory.
Track List
  1. The Lonesome Boatman
  2. Rebels with a Cause
  3. Blood
  4. Sandlot
  5. First Class Loser
  6. Paying My Way
  7. I Had a Hat
  8. Kicked to the Curb
  9. You'll Never Walk Alone
  10. 4-15-13
  11. Until the Next Time
Contributions By
thisisabtlgrnd, patton, bgod

Added on: November 3, 2016