Drake - More Life
More Life
66
User Score (302)
Your Review
Reviews
Ratings
Mar 21, 2017*
Cambridge
75
More Life is a culmination of the sound that has made Drake so successful. Boasting his versatility, it's a playlist that of a sonic synopsis of what the OVO aesthetic has personified. From his witty introspective talk-rap & somber mood of lustful R&B to refreshing melodies on dancehall riddims & sprinkles of 40s magical stardust of production, it's a very Drake project that many October born will worship for the upcoming months & the common anti-Drake will scorn with the ... read more
Mar 20, 2017
80
gyalchester on the map
Jun 1, 2017*
BruhMan
83
More Life B.B.K.

FAVORITE TRACKS: Passionfruit, Get It Together, Madiba Riddim, Blem, 4422, Gyalchester, Portland, Sacrifices, Lose You, Teenage Fever, Ice Melts & Do Not Disturb

LEAST FAVORITE: Since Way Back, Glow, KMT & No Long Talk
Mar 19, 2017*
Aoaystheory
74
EDIT: Seriously though, not a bad listen really. It say it's a "playlist" and, if approached that way, it's pretty solid for Drake. For me, this beat Views. He ends the "playlist" confident and seems more himself than in "Views," and by the time you make it to the end (it's an hour and 21 mins) it leaves you excited for whats to come, as this seems like just something he wanted to put out preceding something bigger.
It's "Easy Listening" Hip Hop.
Mar 19, 2017*
EMR
55
Another huge pile of messy and glossy rap material from Drake, now inviting everyone, from Quavo to Giggs, to PARTYNEXTDOOR to Kanye (and hardly getting any good results out of those collaborations). There seems to be no real reason for this 'playlist' to exist, and even less reason for all the excruciating filler skits and boring tracks that permeate the release, extending it to really difficult 80 minutes of roll-around emptiness and obvious songwriting (if we can actually call it that). ... read more
Apr 9, 2017
lemuriams
82
USER SCORE THIS TIME SUCKS, BECOUSE THIS MIXTAPE IS VERY GOOD.
Mar 26, 2017
JFulfy
86
This is unreal, with some songs that are not good 'fillers' but overall this album is full and dynamic to Drake's new and inspired self that we saw coming through himself in Views, however that imo was not represented properly or maturely in how to use this new found music. This album is a lot more approachable and clean. Still too long though.
Mar 23, 2017*
dyelir
79
Drake continues on his post-Views lets-rack-up-the-streams, this-is-way-too-long albums with More Life, a smorgasbord of sounds form across the map (featuring Drake's distasteful patois, among other things). For the most part, the tracks are sequenced well but you get the sense that since this isn't a real "Drake album", Drake didn't assemble his best work here and merely tried to get all of these loose ends to fit together instead.
Mar 19, 2017
pouls
40
This does not give me more life, as much as it gives me more suffering.
Mar 19, 2017
McKnightyxx
79
I might be in the minority on this but I'd just like to say that I liked views. To me it was an album that shined because it was so moody and atmospheric, each song emitted a different feeling for me. Only downside I thought was that Drake had taken a back seat in terms of lyrics.

This however is Drake finally putting out a mature project. He stopped whining about females (to a degree, not as bad as child's play). And he's brought more focus towards his lyrics. I have a bad feeling that this ... read more
Mar 19, 2017
jpaps96
65
hi mcknightyxx, I'd like you to know that i did in fact enjoy this album, albeit not a bunch, but it was good.

a lot of the songs sort of blend together and the two songs with pnd & Kanye are god awful, but overall it's a fun, simple album in melodramatic Drake fashion. sacrifices is an amazing song, and 2 chainz and thug absolutely kill it.
Mar 18, 2017
thethirdverse
29
terrible, uninspired shit tailored specifically for the radio and full of cringy, fake-deep, instagram caption-ready quotes. even a great young thug verse couldn't save this album.
Mar 27, 2017
jay7420
95
oh My Drake you done it again. included awesome artists like Sampha, Travis Scott n Quavo. saying its a masterpiece is an understatement.
Mar 25, 2017
JAM
79
Drake bounces back from "Views" with "More Life". It's his most diverse release to date. With 22 tracks, the playlist is surprisingly consistent. The production flows well and transitions well into the next track. Rather than an album with overarching highs, "More life" succeeds in its subtlety. There are not many standout tracks, but it's almost as if the playlist was never meant for this. "More Life" is meant to be a diverse, consistent project with a ... read more
Mar 21, 2017
peppersmith67
80
I have NEVER liked a Drake album.

Drake goes back all the way to when I first started critically analyzing music as one of the first artists I just couldn't quit on because of his amazing singles. The 'woe is me' annoyance of Take Care left a bitter taste in my mouth, and the bipolar Nothing Was the Same had song of the year contenders paired back to back (ayylmao) with some of Drake's worst material. If You're Reading this... was a definite improvement, but lacked the variety that had me ... read more
Mar 21, 2017
98
You can hate on Drizzy, but You can't deny his new material provides with variety of genres, tunes and joy. Unbelievable, it sounds extraordinary.
Mar 19, 2017*
chuyin49
69
This is definitely an improvement from views but its not even close to a great or classic album. I enjoyed a lot of the songs on here but there were also the slower songs that I am not a fan of.

If this playlist was released instead, I would of gave it a higher rating:

More Life A Playlist by Chuyin49

1. Free Smoke
2. No Long Talk
3. Passionfruit
4. 4422
5. Gyalchester
6: Skepta Interlude
7. Portland
8. Sacrifices
9. KMT
10. Lose You
11. Can't Have Everything
12. Do Not Disturb
Mar 19, 2017
82
Its good. He experiments with new sounds and made them into his own. It was boring at times but still enjoyable.
Mar 20, 2017
Chimecha
41
More disappointment
Mar 18, 2017
exception
47
This is an improvement over Views. And that's all that really matters to me. Even though the More Life "playlist" is just glossed up mainstream rap, with nothing special to it, there are a few enjoyable tracks, even if they are mindlessly generic and uninspired.

fav tracks: Ice Melts, KMT (i thought this was an XXXtentacion rip off like everyone else at first, but the studio version has very obvious differences)
Nov 19, 2017
58
favs: free smoke, passionfruit, 4422, gylchester, skepta interflude, portland, KMT, glow, do not disturb
least fav: blem
Nov 14, 2017
blinkclyro
70
Overall the album has struck a chord with me more than Views did. Besides the dancehall, the album is, for the most part, darker; however some of the songs are forgetful, maybe throwing 22 songs in is stretching it a bit thin. It does feel quite like a B-Side album of songs that didn’t make Views but it’s still pretty solid.
Oct 17, 2017
76
Drake marketed this to be kinda Views leftovers, but with a Cruel Summer vibe with OVO artists all over. And, that's not really what we got tbh. I wanted some Majid Jordan, Wednesday Night Interlude type PND, and maybe some DVSN. We ended up getting all star features, which I was fine with. Idk why he used this album to give Giggs and Jorja Smith a cosign tho. What even is October Firm yo. Anyway, this is very long like Views, and could have dropped around 7 tracks to make an album in the mid ... read more
Oct 9, 2017
ASAPbroccoli
50
Remember guys, it's a Playlist. Not an album.

Marketing/10
Sep 26, 2017
49
Surprisingly, I think Drake is getting worse and worse, after Views I thought he couldn't come up with something of lower quality but here it is, a playlist... what a waste of time. I understand that he was inspired by dancehall, afrobeats and UK's MCs in the elaboration of this album but certainly it's all the same. I had high hopes for the Kanye collaboration but it ends ups being forgettable, some songs are catchy however they get old pretty fast. Drake flow isn't nowhere, I think he got ... read more
Sep 6, 2017*
dzrey
82
TIER 1: Passionfruit, Gyalchester, Ice Melts

TIER 2: No Long Talk, Skepta Interlude, KMT

TIER 3: Free Smoke, Jorja Interlude, Get It Together, Madiba Riddim, 4422, Portland, Sacrifices, Nothings Into Somethings, Teenage Fever, Can't Have Everything, Fake Love, Do Not Disturb

TIER 4: Blem, Lose You, Glow, Since Way Back
Aug 28, 2017
58
On More Life Drake tries to disguise mediocrity in a playlist format which leads to a very bloated and unmemorable listening experience.
Aug 26, 2017
80
Fav tracks: Free Smoke, Passionfruit, Lose You, Glow, Fake Love, Ice Melts, Do Not Disturb
Jul 30, 2017
luisdelrey2016
62
✔ "Free Smoke", "No Long Talk", "Get It Together", "Gyalchester", "KMT" and "Lose You"
✘ "Madiba Riddim", "Blem" and "Glow"
Jul 7, 2017
43
It's a "playlist" for a reason -- reason being you can swiftly delete it and imagine it was never there. A strange misstep from Drake, who has been paving mainstream hip hop in many ways for years. To me, it was a step towards the delusions of his mentor, Lil Wayne.. feeling so great that he can put other random artists on with simply his name, and that his greatness transcends his subjective quality. For shame.
Jun 11, 2017
Music_Observer
55
This “playlist” is full of emptiness and troubling normalcy, with annoying and unsupportive backing textures overshadowing Drake’s talent on the microphone to result in a confusing, un-artistic work. My Score: 100/180 (Okay) = 55/100
May 26, 2017
YowzaBaby
40
Mediocre 'playlist'
May 19, 2017
5ean
78
Passionfruit.
May 3, 2017
frienderman
72
I listened to this album in its entirety because of the "Hermes link, ice blue mink" video that surfaced on my Twitter timeline. That shit made me laugh so hard.
Apr 30, 2017
80
undervalued
Apr 22, 2017
50
good thing Drake calls this a playlist because it doesn't flow well at all. Way too much filler to be a good project tho. The variety of influences in sound culminating in a pop rap album is cool too. the best songs in my opinion are Passion Fruit, Skepta Interlude, Sacrifices, Nothings Into Somethings, and Ice Melts.
Apr 20, 2017*
aaron
73
Mixtape drake strikes again, while this hangs shallowly low on the ceiling of hip hop releases it is still a good representation of Drake's sound, and a great adaption to his world,

This wont move him any closer to the conversation of being one of the best hip-hop artists of his time but it does maintain, that he still knows how to make a good album, because that's what this is, a good album disguised as a playlist.
Apr 14, 2017
bitterblossom12
74
This album's not bad, some of the songs are great (Sacrifices, Passionfruit, Ice Melts), of course it's too long and has a lot of filler but yeah I'm digging it. Not a great ablum in terms of consistent sound and themes, but I think Drake doing his take on a bunch of types of songs, Trap, dancehall, grime, is cool.

Full review: https://reviewsbybitterblossom.wordpress.com/2017/04/14/drake-more-life/
Apr 8, 2017*
plowo
70
Favs: Passionfruit, Get It Together (feat. Black Coffee & Jorja Smith), Blem and Teenage Fever.
Mar 27, 2017*
ryansliao
47
I'll give Drake this: the beats aren't all that bad. But once again Drake gives a very dispassionate and unengaging performance. And per usual, there are very few memorable moments. At least it is better than Views.

Best Tracks: Free Smoke, Skepta Interlude, KMT, Lose You
Worst Tracks: Can't Have Everything, Fake Love
Mar 24, 2017
THoeller1099
30
I've never liked Drake's rapping, and this album makes me dislike Drake's rapping more.
Mar 22, 2017
CxAylward
65
significantly better than views but still a total mess
Mar 22, 2017
SeaBass
60
Nothing in this "playlist" is offensively bad (maybe Drake's British accent, but apart from that), and really it's a good vibe. Not a bad playlist at all. Now that doesn't mean I'd actually search it out or something. I enjoyed it more than Views, but yeah, that says nothing.
Mar 21, 2017
74
An interesting album with lots to offer with a variety of sounds. Still I expected more powerful sounds in some spots. His approach is really great and has alot to offer to the hip hop fans
Mar 21, 2017
scott96k
60
leaps and bounds better than Views, however, the second half really lets it down.
Mar 21, 2017
Tarantino
78
fav: free smoke, passionfruit, KMT, glow
Mar 20, 2017
DarkHorse3313
45
808's wanna be.
Mar 20, 2017*
Z.Younk
60
The more thrown-together mixtape feel does Drake justice, the dancehall / UK / Deep House influence is more listenable than the all-over-the-place, corny Views. Basically the less like old Drake it sounds the better.
showing 1 - 50 of 55 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
10

80-89
 
58

70-79
 
87

60-69
 
62

50-59
 
36

40-49
 
32

30-39
 
5

20-29
 
5

10-19
 
3

0-9
 
4

51%of users like this album
4%of users don't like this album
Popular Now
Björk
Utopia
Tove Lo
Blue Lips
Jaden Smith
Syre
Lorde
Melodrama
St. Vincent
MASSEDUCTION
Baths
Romaplasm