Saturn Over Sunset
Midnight Sister - Saturn Over Sunset
Critic Score
Based on 6 reviews
2017 Rank: #325 / 629
User Score
Based on 7 ratings
September 8, 2017 / Release Date
LP / Format
Jagjaguwar / Label
Your Review



Highly stylized but memorable for both its unusual palette and what are ultimately consistently good songs, Saturn Over Sunset is recommended for anyone intrigued by the idea of retrofuturist anti-pop.

An appealing smoothie of sparkly pop, disco, 60s yé-yé, and hints of weirdo psychedelia that’s whipped up during the more accessible tracks, but something is a bit…off. Straight art-pop this is not.
Track List
  1. Canary
  2. Leave You
  3. Blue Cigar
  4. Showgirl
  5. The Drought
  6. The Crow
  7. Daddy Long Legs
  8. Neon
  9. Shimmy
  10. So Young
  11. The View from Gilligan's Island
  12. Hitman
  13. Clown
  14. Their Eyes

Added on: September 8, 2017