AOTY 2020

Sonic Boom

KISS - Sonic Boom
Critic Score
Based on 6 reviews
2009 Ratings: #466 / 866
User Score
Based on 21 ratings
October 5, 2009 / Release Date
LP / Format
KISS/Universal / Label
Hard Rock / Genres
Sign In to rate and review
After an eleven year break, KISS come back once more to continue to try and gain some sort of relevance. This time, though, they actually somewhat succeed, making an album that's very reminiscent of their '70s output and is arguably their best release since 1982's Creatures Of The Night.

Sonic Boom may not be their most enjoyable, memorable, or even impactful release, but it surprisingly does have a lot going for it (at least when taking into account the majority of KISS's discography). The ... read more
Kiss' penultimate studio work was released 11 years after 'Psycho Circus', the album that reunited the four classic members, a lineup that wouldn't produce much more. 'Sonic Boom' has more very good songs than its predecessor, but it's slightly worse because it also has 'meh' ones ("All for the Glory" and "Danger Us") while 'Circus' was consistently fine. Despite that, tunes like "Never Enough", "Yes I Know" and "Stand" (tracks 3, 4, and 5) are ... read more
What's there to say? It's a bunch of weak KISS songs, not on spotify so i had to listen to them on youtube so thanks for that... less KISS plays on isn't a bad thing though
An honestly really enjoyable late album in Kiss’ career.
Purchasing Sonic Boom from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists

#31/Consequence of Sound

Track List

Disc 1

  1. Modern day Delilah
  2. Russian Roulette
  3. Never Enough
  4. Yes I Know (Nobody's Perfect)
  5. Stand
  6. Hot And Cold
  7. All For The Glory
  8. Danger US
  9. I'm An Animal
  10. When Lightning Strikes
  11. Say Yeah

Disc 2

  1. Deuce
  2. Detroit Rock City
  3. Shout It Out Loud
  4. Hotter Than Hell
  5. Calling Dr. Love
  6. Love Gun
  7. I Was Made For Lovin' You
  8. Heaven's On Fire
  9. Lick It Up
  10. I Love It Loud
  11. Forever
  12. Christine Sixteen
  13. Do You Love Me?
  14. Black Diamond
  15. Rock And Roll All Nite
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.