The Luca Brasi Story

Kevin Gates - The Luca Brasi Story
Critic Score
Based on 2 reviews
User Score
Based on 14 ratings
February 2, 2013 / Release Date
Mixtape / Format
Self-Released / Label
Hip Hop / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account. / Website
Sign In to rate and review
Kevin Gates is unique and this is easily his most definitive work.
The Luca Brasi story unspools intermittently, oscillating between Gates street-hardened thug and emotional thug personas. It's easy to dismiss the mixtape as another pompous, ignorant Southern-rap album on the first listen but The Luca Brasi story transcends this stereotype. Kevin Gates employs his husky voice to great effect both lyrically and melodically showcasing his range of skills as a rapper, singer and song-writer.This is a long but very engrossing mixtape with some cliche' ... read more
Purchasing The Luca Brasi Story from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists

#7/FACT Magazine

Track List

  1. Mr. Brasi
  2. Paper Chasers [Prod. By Swiff D]
  3. Weight [Prod. By Grizzly On The Beat]
  4. Flex (Feat. Terrance Hines)
  5. Neon Lights [Prod. By Maven Boys]
  6. Arms Of A Stranger [Prod. By S1]
  7. I Need It [Prod. By Grizzly On The Beat]
  8. Wylin' [Prod. By KB]
  9. Hold Ya Head [Prod. By S-X]
  10. Narco Trafficante (Feat. Percy Keith)
  11. Just Ride (Feat. Curren$y) [Prod. By Grizzly On The Beat]
  12. Around Me [Prod. By Cy Fyre]
  13. Twilight [Prod. By Mr. Morris]
  14. Counting On Ya [Prod. By Maven Boys]
  15. Marshall Mathers [Prod. By Maven Boys]
  16. IDGAF
  17. Hero [Prod. By Nard B]
  18. Ugly But She Fine (Feat. Master P) [Prod. By Marvel Hitz]
  19. Talking Stupid (Feat. Percy Keith)
  20. Hold It Down [Prod. By Grizzly On The Beat]
  21. What's Understood [Prod. By Jahlil Beats]
  22. IHOP (True Story)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: November 17, 2013