AOTY 2020
Boards of Canada - Geogaddi
Critic Score
Based on 9 reviews
2002 Ratings: #21 / 191
User Score
Based on 403 ratings
2002 Ratings: #7
Liked by 9 people
February 19, 2002 / Release Date
LP / Format
Warp / Label
IDM / Genres
Sign In to rate and review
Shout out to @amygoodall for introducing me to this band!
I like the salad fingers feature at track 3
Boards Of Canada's second studio album is inherently a standout opus in their discography. 'Geogaddi' is full of funny samples, weird and frightening IDM sounds.

Their landmark 'Music Has the Right to Children' didn’t give the group bottom-up prop. Boards of Canada went even further. Having created their new splendor in the history of IDM, unlike some of their brothers, the guys were not going to make their album based on the lush noise. 'Geogaddi', on the contrary, resembles a turn of ... read more
While it sounds familiar to the preceding 'Music Has The Right To Children' 'Geogaddi' takes a different direction stylistically and tone-wise. Themes presented here are more disturbing and thought-provoking, while MHTRTC explores themes relating to adolescence and nostalgia (hence the title of the record). The band were in the middle of making Geogaddi when the horrific events of 9/11 inspired them to explore more dark themes (The Devil Is In The Details is pretty fucked up yeah?) While I ... read more
In the 8 or so years that I've been into Boards of Canada, I've never seemed to have been able to reach a high level of appreciation for Geogaddi as a whole. I respect it as an impressive follow-up to their debut, but it's also a record that I'm rarely, if ever, willing to listen to from front to back. It's their longest album to date, and more often than not it certainly feels that way.

My main criticism is that there are just simply too many interludes. As a matter of fact, close to half of ... read more
Purchasing Geogaddi from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists


Track List

  1. Ready Lets Go
  2. Music Is Math
  3. Beware the Friendly Stranger
  4. Gyroscope
  5. Dandelion
  6. Sunshine Recorder
  7. In the Annexe
  8. Julie and Candy
  9. The Smallest Weird Number
  10. 1969
  11. Energy Warning
  12. The Beach at Redpoint
  13. Opening the Mouth
  14. Alpha and Omega
  15. I Saw Drones
  16. The Devil Is In the Details
  17. A Is to B As B Is to C
  18. Over the Horizon Radar
  19. Dawn Chorus
  20. Diving Station
  21. You Could Feel the Sky
  22. Corsair
  23. Magic Window
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.