Lemon Demon - View-Monster
Critic Score
User Score
Based on 32 ratings
Liked by 7 people
July 18, 2008 / Release Date
LP / Format
- / Label
Synthpop, Indie Pop / Genres
Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
This is a record that references Mark Twain, Bill Waterson, The Wiggles, and "Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark" illustrator Stephen Gammell. How is this not more well known?

As a sort of transition-piece in Neil's discography, there's a lot of songs that are pure flashes of genius, but other songs that use the same methods to poor results to the point that you wonder if he really has a handle on his own toolset yet. "Amnesia Was Her Name," one of my favorites on the album, ... read more
In many ways, this sort of feels like Dinosaurchestra Lite to me. It has that same feeling of being generally pleasant to listen to, but not having a ton that sticks out to me. The lyricism is still on point, but sonically there just wasn’t a ton being offered to me. Modify was a standout hit, both in writing and production, but everything else was just kinda good. Nothing really bad to say, I just don’t have a distinct impression.

Amnesia Was Her Name
Knife ... read more
I really like this but the end isn't as good as the rest of the album. I am hoping this is the last Lemon Demon album I have to listen to.
This album is one of Neil's masterly-crafted pieces under the pseudonym, "Lemon Demon". This album still retains that surreal and humorous lyricism from Neil's previous work, whilst experimenting with all sorts of new sounds. It's a real shame that most people who have heard of Lemon Demon, and praised his work on "Spirit Phone" won't even give this one a chance. It;s underrated, it's creative, it's everything I love to see in a Lemon Demon release.

This will be a review on the 32-track version of the album with all the Untitled instrumentals.

Picking up almost directly from the ending of Dinosaurchestra spiritually, the album kicks off with a nice lullaby nice track to settle users into this sleepy-aquarium like territory before putting on full blast what the record is really trying to go for which is a bunch of higher fidelity versions of the song-writing present on the two previous records.

I feel this album is ... read more
Purchasing View-Monster from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Ezht, rosesaavedra
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Kaleidoskull
  2. Untitled (View-Monster)
  3. Amnesia Was Her Name
  4. Untitled (Hippocampus)
  5. The Man in Stripes and Glasses
  6. Untitled (Spooky Sounds Vol. 6)
  7. Marketland
  8. Untitled (X-Ray Glasses)
  9. Gadzooks
  10. Untitled (Prelude to a Knife Fight)
  11. Knife Fight
  12. Untitled (Autofocus)
  13. The Only House That's Not On Fire (Yet)
  14. Untitled (Combs)
  15. The Ocean
  16. Untitled (Wet Hair)
  17. The Afternoon
  18. Untitled (After Afternoon)
  19. Spring Heeled Jack
  20. Untitled (Alternate History)
  21. Being a Rock Star
  22. Untitled (Like a Balloon)
  23. Ask for Nothing
  24. Untitled (Disconnect)
  25. The Satirist's Love Song
  26. Untitled (Therapy)
  27. The Machine
  28. Untitled (Between the Frames)
  29. Bill Watterson
  30. Untitled (Sleeping)
  31. Something Glowing
  32. Untitled (Finale)
Sign in to comment

Added on: July 8, 2018