Don't Wake Me Up

The Microphones - Don't Wake Me Up
Critic Score
Based on 2 reviews
User Score
Based on 130 ratings
1999 Ratings: #58
Liked by 8 people
Sign In to rate and review
Phil Everum’s debut album forecast his future sound while simultaneously being a great experience on its own.

While Don’t Wake Me Up is not Elverum’s magnum opus, it does serve as a great start to one of music’s greatest careers. Phil’s signature LoFi sound is even rougher and more unfiltered than ever. The sounds are louder than they are on any of Phil’s other endeavors, to the point where they can overpower and drown out Phil’s vocals at times. ... read more
once again phil elverum shows that he cannot make more than one good album. starting to think he got lucky with The Glow pt. 2. my man has not made one good song outside of that album. thought that maybe a lofi, grassroots style similar to the glow pt. 2 might be anywhere near as cool as the glow pt 2, but damn this is trashhhhhhhhhh. there's a fine line between having a distorted, lofi style and just being p[lain shitty. thisu is just plain shity.
the official debut from the microphones is incredibly ambitious, quickly finding comfort in a sound that is unique and captivating
I feel like I'm being pulled closer and closer to nothingness with each listen
this album is empty, but in the best way. i think the cover best summarizes that, with the shapes of something gone forever imprinted on the scene but uncertain and left behind. this is the first of phil's albums i'm going to review, and god is it so good for the stage in his development as an artist at which it came. we all know where he would progress to, but listening to this project, which is the root of a lot of the sounds we would come to hear later, is so eye-opening and exciting, and ... read more
Purchasing Don't Wake Me Up from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Ocean, 1, 2, 3
  2. Florida Beach
  3. Here With Summer
  4. Where It's Hotter pt. 3
  5. I'm Getting Cold
  6. I'll Be In The Air
  7. Tonight There'll Be Clouds
  8. You Were In The Air
  9. What Happened To You?
  10. It Wouldn't
  11. I'm In Hell
  12. Don't Wake Me Up
  13. Sweetheart Sleep Tight
  14. instrumental
  15. I Felt You
Sign in to comment