AOTY 2022

Here Lies Love

David Byrne & Fatboy Slim - Here Lies Love
Critic Score
Based on 17 reviews
2010 Ratings: #673 / 912
User Score
Based on 10 ratings
Sign In to rate and review



Here Lies Love should have been truly great. Or at least truly awful. A 2xCD album, with 22 guest vocalists, devoted to the life, loves, and sartorial obsessions of the infamous Imelda Marcos, wife of equally infamous Filipino despot Ferdinand Marcos? Masterminded by two of music's most inventive nerds-- David Byrne and Fatboy Slim? Oddball subject, high-profile collaborators, unchecked ambition: a combination tha

t should guarantee either a left-field classic or a cringe-inducing misstep. A grand or gaudy approach that fits the garish, romantic, obsessive arc of its heroine's life.


20 singers are playing the roles of Imelda Marcos (!) and Estrella Cumpas (!) in this rock musical, made by David Byrne and Fatboy Slim: too ambitious, it raised too many expectations to end in too poor results.


You'd expect something along the lines of My Life in the Bush of Ghosts or something closer to fbs's early records, but you'd be very let down.

Purchasing Here Lies Love from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
patton, royalflush, philthy, domvic
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Here Lies Love
  2. Every Drop of Rain
  3. You'll Be Taken Care Of
  4. The Rose of Tacloban
  5. How Are You?
  6. A Perfect Hand
  7. Eleven Days
  8. Walk Like a Woman
  9. Don't You Agree?
  10. Ladies in Blue
  11. When She Passed By
  12. A Pretty Face
  13. A Whole Man
  14. American Troglodyte
  15. Dancing Together
  16. Men Will Do Anything
  17. Never So Big
  18. Please Don't
  19. Solano Avenue
  20. Seven Years
  21. Order 1081
  22. Why Don't You Love Me?
  23. Here Lies Love (Reprise)

Sign in to comment