Janet Jackson - Control
Critic Score
Based on 4 reviews
1986 Ratings: #9 / 85
User Score
Based on 174 ratings
1986 Ratings: #18
Liked by 10 people
February 2, 1986 / Release Date
LP / Format
A&M / Label
R&B, Dance Pop / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
janetjackson.com / Website
Sign In to rate and review
Janet Jackson after the Jackson 5, after constant record label, and before her prime. Janet, along with songwriting giants Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, created a fun, cut-and-dry pop record that helped give new jack swing the pop sensibility it was needing. The rigid, swinging, danceable, HUGE rhythms all over this album are unstoppable, and are backed by growling bass synthesizers and ganged vocals. Songs like "Nasty", "What Have You Done for Me Lately", and "The ... read more
Pérola dos anos 80. Produção incrível de New Jack Swing.
Janet mostrou evolução imensa neste álbum comprado com seus antecessores. Control, a faixa título abre o álbum maravilhosamente com seu instrumental incrível.
Nasty e What Have You Done For Me Lately também são grandes destaques do disco.
Com certeza esse álbum abriu um novo capítulo na história do R&B.
Though this is her third solo album, I truly believe its her first as Janet completely bypasses the first two on any of her compilations. Control was Janet's first album recorded independently of her Father, who manager her career for many years. The songs are truly those of anger, frustration and freedom through the eyes of a teenager who wants to prove her worth. Though the subject matter is a bit dark, the music is catchy and iconic. Listen to: Nasty, Control, What Have You Done For Me ... read more
* Control (10/10)
* Nasty (10/10)
* What Have You Done For Me Lately (9/10)
* You Can Be Mine (8/10)
* The Pleasure Principle (8.5/10)
* When I Think Of You (8/10)
* He Doesn't Know I'm Alive (9/10)
* Let's Wait Awhile (10/10)
* Funy How Time Flies (When You're Having Fun) (7.5/10)
* Start Anew (9/10)

Nota Final: 89/100
9. You Can Be Mine
8. What Have You Done For Me Lately
7. Nasty
6. Control
5. Funny How Time Flies (When You're Having Fun)
4. Let's Wait Awhile
3. The Pleasure Principle
2. When I Think of You
1. He Doesn't Know I'm Alive
Purchasing Control from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
PINK MONTH, Paxster, analy, warrenm14
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Control
  2. Nasty
  3. What Have You Done for Me Lately
  4. You Can Be Mine
  5. The Pleasure Principle
  6. When I Think of You
  7. He Doesn't Know I'm Alive
  8. Let's Wait Awhile
  9. Funny How Time Flies (When You're Having Fun)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: June 26, 2014