The Big Moon - Walking Like We Do
Walking Like We Do
68
User Score (153)
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review
Reviews
Ratings
HoodieBraden
65
"It sounds like the soundtrack for a white girls' road trip for spring break." - AOTY user, snowman (1/11/20)

literally a perfect way to sum up this album lmao.
wless
65
any optimism that this album has to offer comes across the exact same as the clearly-manufactured indie rock girl groups of the late 2010s, which is kind of a shame considering the capabilities that the big moon clearly has. "holy roller" and "take a piece" are both really good songs, and if there was more material like them, i'd have enjoyed the album more.
Doublez
70
Big Moon's second album is warm, colourful and then electric and it has this ability to remain passionate to the end without faltering. Of course it's not a great album, it's good indie pop without any visible innovation, but the band delivers a beautiful energy, seductive melodies.

Moreover the production and instrumentalization is never too generic, it has enough bouncy ingredients and small details that manage to give life to each song. In conclusion, I would say that this album is ... read more
JayCrackers
65
I mean it is a solid pop record with some interesting moments but those moments are spread far too thin making the album enjoyable but one which I probably won't return to.

TRACK REVIEW

It's Easy Then 7/10
Your Light 6/10
Dog Eat Dog 6/10
Why 6.5/10
Don't Think 7/10
Waves 7/10
Holy Roller 6.5/10
Take a Piece 6.5/10
Barcelona 6/10
A Hundred Ways to Land 6/10
ADHD 6.5/10

AVERAGE: 6.5/10
VeniseZoomer
73
Not a very impressionable album, but fairly enjoyable.

Good track: Your Light

Decent tracks: Waves, A hundred ways to find land, ADHD
snowman
56
Nothing that really stands out. Basic indie pop. The lyrics are eh i guess (although i like “no one knows where they’re going, they just walk like they do”). It’s about 10 minutes too long and it overstays it’s welcome. It sounds like the soundtrack for a white girls road trip for spring break.
jkpyg
84
Lyrics - 15/20
Instrumentation - 17/20
Originality - 12/20
Enjoyment - 15/20
Production - 16/20

Best Track - take a piece, adhd, a hundred ways to land
Worst Track - waves

Best Thing About It: Production
Worst Thing About It: 🤔

Note: Really wanted to love it but really liked it. Last Song sounds like Me by Taylor Swift. 😂

Rating Upon Release - 75
Revisit (15/01/20) - 80
Revisit 2 (16/01/20) - 84
Tracheole
72
There is something I like about these songs, also Juliette’s voice is kinda unique. It has some worse moments, but in overall it was a really fun listen. And I have to admit Your Light is a hit
marvelgaryen
83
Is as fun as the album cover, great list of pop songs for good mood.
thevillageidiot
40
The Big Moon, or Walk the Moon, or happy white millennials that take pictures with instruments so that people think they can play them - it's all the same shallow excreta that's been whittling away at our expectations for musicians for years.

Grade: F
82
Really strong lyrics throughout, musically varied and a skill of approaching cliche but taking you in a new direction before you get there keeps you excited.
Tsareena
80
The singles were pretty much perfect on this. While the rest of the album doesn't measure up, there enough charm to really enjoy this. The uncertainty of the future is something younger artists have been singing about lately but I love the clarity and optimism on Walking Like We Do. Outside the great themes explored, still a good collection of pop tunes.
Faves: It's Easy Then, Your Light, Take a Piece
GarethA
50
This is like the musical soundtrack to the word "meh", the literal definition of the score 50/100. It's enjoyable, but it's so aggressively generic and forgettable that it's never something I feel like I want to be listening to, it's just a decent listen. Plus, the second half is a decently large step down in quality IMO, and by the closer I found myself just wanting the album to end. While there is fun to be had with this album (particularly with some of the early songs), it's really ... read more
JohnLouisHoward
80
my rating is a little high out of respect for their top-flight musicianship. they are a really tight live band, with a strong rhythm section and three credible vocalists. on the whole the songs here are nothing special, but there are a few good moments scattered in the mix. this is a good band that made an average record. there are worse things.
ArcadeWeekend
75
Fave Tracks: It's Easy Then, Your Light, Why, Don't Think, Barcelona, A Hundred Ways To Land
gabe5inko_music
71
just some nice indie pop, nothing spectacular but nothing to sneeze at
mbart2
70
A self-assured pop record that still maintains hints of the grunge that defined their debut album, supplying a welcome scuff on the glossy sheen that is pop music. Nothing about the record is massively new or original, but consistently strong melodies and water-tight song writing means this will always be an enjoyable listen.
eedeltoro15
84
If this is considered "the soundtrack for a white girl's road trip for spring break" then goddammit I am a white woman for life. I was really really impressed with this LP. I'm a huge fan of the sound they used in their tracks, the melodies and rhythms are on point, and I especially loved the occasional appearance of a flute on this project. Overall the production was outstanding. Vocals were also done pretty well. I didn't pay too much attention to the lyrics because the sound is ... read more
LeftTwix
3
dork literally makes the worst reviews i have ever seen
RandyXXX8
69
The Big Moon returns on their second album, with a more indie/alternative sound, it's nice to hear, but the songs sound the same.
Fav Song: Your Light, Take a Piece.
kyotobynight
50
Meh...
MBDTFWasA6
53
such mainstream melodies, who else noticed how they robbed use somebody by kings of leon
JCoelho88
80
Nice surprise to start the year.

The ending of "Don't think" is stuck on my mind.
Edgeworth
70
Not as enticing as their Mercury nominated debut album Love In The 4th Dimension, but this is a fun accessible album.
NTTR
53
Genre: Indie Pop
Origin: UK

Final Verdict:53% (Pleasant Album)
Yearly ranking: 11th / 16

Highlight: Take a Piece

Made me think of:
Christine and the Queens
Sharon Van Etten
Nilüfer Yanya
Wolf Alice
Angel Olsen
Eloise
distraughtonaut
76
feels a lot more polished to me, getting closer and closer to that border that is indie and pop. but they definitely still have their sound from the previous album, though it is a bit less inspired than that. altogether has some fun jams.
kappachino
59
Underwhelming at times but still a nice album to listen to
PatrickL0419
64
Not terrible, but nothing too special on display here either.
Danko
76
Walking Like We Do conveys messages about the struggle in today’s society and finding one’s self. All of this colored over with, at times, brightly colored Pop ballads and Synthesizers. Juliette Jackson’s voice is the most prominent feature to this album, it’s what really stood out to me. When it comes to the rest of the band it seems they pale in comparison to their front woman, but the background singing is nice. The beginning of the album is a race to the finish, ... read more
currentjoyys
66
FAVORITE TRACK: Your Light

LEAST FAVORITE TRACK: Take a Piece

This is a very easy listening indie pop album. But that's all. It's good in the moment and great background music but I really can't remember one song all the way through. But we do love a girl band in this house.
Restassured
75
This album was good. Certainly something I will come back to listen to, although I'm not sure when. Favorite track is probably "Take a Piece", and it's not worth mentioning a "worst" track because I pretty much enjoyed everything throughout.

Production: 7/10
Musicianship: 8/10
Originality: 7/10
83
Really enjoyed this +not just because of the beautiful album cover
infernape
60
I had never heard of The Big Moon until this album popped up on my New Releases tab. I gave it a try and I'm glad I did!

Overall it's a very easy listen, I would say 95% of the album is very repayable as well and if you have a soft spot for lyrics, then this might be your record. Loved the songwriting and the overall execution of this, including the artwork.

"Dog Eat Dog" especially was one of the few songs I did not like in the album (maybe even the one I enjoyed the least), yet ... read more
anaxel
65
Favs: your light, don't think, take a piece
Xristoula
68
Nothing exciting here
showing 1 - 36 of 36 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
5

80-89
 
21

70-79
 
53

60-69
 
47

50-59
 
22

40-49
 
3

30-39
 

20-29
 

10-19
 

0-9
 
2

52%of users like this album
1%of users don't like this album
Popular Albums
Eminem - Music To Be Murdered By
Eminem
Music To Be Murdered By
Mac Miller - Circles
Mac Miller
Circles
Halsey - Manic
Halsey
Manic
Poppy - I Disagree
Poppy
I Disagree
070 Shake - Modus Vivendi
070 Shake
Modus Vivendi
Selena Gomez - Rare
Selena Gomez
Rare

January Playlist
Forums
Vinyl Me, Please