~how i'm feeling~

Lauv - ~how i'm feeling~
Critic Score
Based on 8 reviews
2020 Ratings: #526 / 809
User Score
Based on 320 ratings
2020 Ratings: #911
Liked by 13 people
March 6, 2020 / Release Date
LP / Format
AWAL / Label
Electropop, R&B / Genres
Sign In to rate and review



With some to dance to and some to cry to, if you’re looking for your new favourite pop album, Lauv’s got you sorted.


His music has a brilliant simplicity to it; under all of the processed layers, each song sounds almost naked compared to most contemporary pop production.


He never fails to bring emotion and has a heartfelt openness with his artistry that is fresh and needed more than ever. How I’m Feeling is all those things and so, so much more.

The Line of Best Fit

Although it is collab heavy – Lauv is nothing if not a 21st century artist, through and through – many of the more thoughtful and interesting songs from a lyrical perspective are his solo songs.


This is a powerful, beautiful debut, but – despite its big name collabs – Lauv's 21-track album is way too long.

The Guardian

Its lightly worn melodies and generically hip sonics seem machine-tooled to creep into its target audience’s subconscious, where its tales of youthful disaffection can be readily absorbed into their own tumultuous inner worlds.


Pop singer Ari Leff advocates powerfully for being forthright about your feelings, but his album’s whopping 21-song tracklist is underwhelming and repetitive.

Pop singer Lauv’s latest studio effort can only be described as a major step backwards.

Most of the characteristics that made his debut so wholesome and lovable have been replaced with your run-of-the-mill pop tropes that you’ve already seen 100 times over.

The catchiness of these songs is the only things that holds this record up at all, because there are a handful of tracks on this thing that are extremely fun sung alongside. As far as the musical merit of it all though, I am ... read more
This is Lauv's first debut album (although I would count 'I met you when I was 18. (the playlist)' an album but it's a compilation) and I really enjoyed it! That compilation was a really good start in his career, so I was really excited about what he had planned for this project. The build-up to this album's release was... interesting I'll say. This album had a total of 10 SINGLES! I would say that's very unnecessary, but there is an exception because of how long this album is. And I think this ... read more
I had already noticed before the release of How I'm Feeling, that he had logically taken the wrong direction in my opinion by leaving to become a radio superstar, whereas he seemed to have the potential to pretend to be better I think. And I hadn't been wrong. After an interesting debut, Lauv had already started teasing a large part of his new album since last year, but we realize that the handful of unreleased songs aren't worth listening to.

Maybe I'm being harsh, but I find that since 2019 ... read more
idk man i think releasing 21 mindless pop songs with the hopes at least one will be a tiktok hit is a pretty solid strategy actually
* Drugs & Internet (6.5/10)
* fuck i'm lonely (6/10)
* Lonely Eyes (6/10)
* Sims (5/10)
* Believed (7/10)
* Billy (4.5/10)
* Feelings (5.5/10)
* Canada (6/10)
* For Now (4/10)
* Mean It (7/10)
* Tell My Mama (5.5/10)
* Sweatpants (5/10)
* Who (4.5/10)
* i'm so tired... (6/10)
* El Tejano (4.5/10)
* Tattoos Together (7.5/10)
* Changes (7/10)
* Sad Forever (5.5/10)
* Invisible Strings (6.5/10)
* Julia (5/10)
* Modern Loneliness (7/10)

Nota Final: 58/100
Purchasing ~how i'm feeling~ from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists


Track List

  1. Drugs & The Internet
  2. fuck, i'm lonely (feat. Anne-Marie)
  3. Lonely Eyes
  4. Sims
  5. Believed
  6. Billy
  7. Feelings
  8. Canada (feat. Alessia Cara)
  9. For Now
  10. Mean It
  11. Tell My Mama
  12. Sweatpants
  13. Who (feat. BTS)
  14. i'm so tired...
  15. El Tejano (feat. Sofía Reyes)
  16. Tattoos Together
  17. Changes
  18. Sad Forever
  19. Invisible Things
  20. Julia
  21. Modern Loneliness
Sign in to comment

Added on: October 1, 2019