Navarasa : Nine Emotions

Yorkston / Thorne / Khan - Navarasa : Nine Emotions
Critic Score
Based on 4 reviews
User Score
Based on 23 ratings
January 24, 2020 / Release Date
LP / Format
Domino / Label
- / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
James Yorkston, Jon Thorne / Featured Artists
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review
Navarasa: Nine Emotions is a patience testing but rewarding and beautifully arranged album by the trio of James Yorkston, Jon Thorne, and Suhail Yusuf Khan. It sees each song taking on the shape of the nine sentiments or emotions expressed through the navarasa - sorrow, disgust, anger, surprise, love, laughter, terror, courage and peace. Often steeped in folk, YTK are a unique blend of worldy sounds based on where each of these artists comes from. Yorkstone brings to the group Scottish folk and ... read more
Lyrics - 10/20
Instrumentation - 17/20
Originality - 13/20
Enjoyment - 10/20
Production - 12/20

Best Track - 😬
Worst Track - The Shearings Not For You

Best Thing About It: Instrumentation
Worst Thing About It: Repeated Lyrics Until I didn't want to hear them again (ie my bonnie laddio)

Note: Nice but Repetetive and Uninteresting
Ever improving trio
a bland and unexciting example of what the potential of eastern western fusion holds
Purchasing Navarasa : Nine Emotions from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Sukhe Phool
  2. The Shearing's Not for You
  3. Thumri Bhairavi
  4. Westlin Winds
  5. Song for Oddur
  6. The North Carr
  7. Twa Brothers
  8. Waliyan Da Raja
  9. Darbari
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.
In Library (5)
Contributions By
anztec, bgod

Added on: November 5, 2019