Lanterns on the Lake - Spook The Herd
Spook The Herd
70
User Score (175)
Sign In to rate and review
Greatr
60
I've listened to this like four times and still haven't heard it.
Doofly
60
yeah it is dream pop cause this shit bored me to sleep
laz456
85
I am in love with this record. Sure- it's pretty tried and true indie/post rock- but I find the melodies on here to be genuinely captivating. Songs like When it All Comes True and Swimming Lessons are so powerful to me. The instrumentation is all so tasteful and well arranged. This album is a really satisfying experience, front to back.

I dunno, I guess I'm siding with the critics on this one. Check it out and let me know if you think I'm wrong. This is my second favorite album of the year so ... read more
JayCrackers
63
Spook the Herd is a solid dream pop record but it is quite simple and boring but a pleasant listen with good vocals and smooth melodies but nothing exciting to make me want to return to this record

Track Review

When It All Comes True 6.5/10
Baddies 6/10
Every Atom 6/10
Blue Screen Beams 6.5/10
Before They Excavate 6.5/10
Swimming Lessons 6.5/10
Secrets & Medicine 6/10
This Is Not a Drill 6/10
A Fitting End 6.5/10

Average: 6.3/10
holsgr
55
( ☆☆½ ) — a k w a r d
peachyibby
59
This record put me right to sleep, so I guess it served its purpose?
HoodieBraden
57
Very drawn out and tedious dream pop that will, more than likely, bore you out of your sane mind. Sonically pleasing, but it's very lackluster in every other aspect.
JohnLouisHoward
72
at this point in their career they have a formula, and it's a good formula, but when you know the formula, then they begin to sound formulaic. they are always good for two or three excellent songs per album and lots of atmosphere. but it's all more pleasant than dreamy, and more drowsy than exciting. the top songs this time are "When It All Comes True", "Swimming Lessons", and the yearning "Every Atom", which is genuinely beautiful.
DareG
77
Very middle of the road indie/dream pop. Vocals are solid, but not remarkable; earnest but not particularly emotional. Instrumentation is enjoyable enough, but nothing here really pulls me in and won't let go.

Standouts: When It All Comes True, Every Atom, Blue Screen Beams

Dropouts:
RobiBerg
68
I like the vocals and the instruments, but for me it gets a little bit boring and repetetive. I think that the song "secrets and medicine" is the worst song in the album, because it was long and the most boring song in the whole album. At least this album was not the worst indie pop album I have heard yet in 2020 , but I think the album could've been a lot better
orangedroog65
70
On first listen, somewhat forgettable?
Houdanny
47
Idk what these critics are hearing, this is largely uninteresting and bland "Dream Pop" that never goes much beyond passable.

Standout: Swimming Lessons
Favs: Blue Screen Beams, This is not a drill
Least fav: Baddies
bitchwhatmusic
74
I really don't see the critical praise. It's good, but it fails in every aspect that could lead it into greatness.
pizzagrande
68
Pleasant, but not really anything special and nothing stands out.
seanohara
65
This was a fun indie record, with some really well written songs. Great vocals. Favourite track was Every Atom.
hzy0421
59
An uneven one. The singer-songwriter-y melody was not something I expected from a dream pop album, and it doesn't match the atmospheric production.
currentjoyys
54
FAVORITE TRACK: Swimming Lessons

LEAST FAVORITE TRACK: This is Not a Drill

With a title like this, I expected a lot more. But my herd is anything but spooked right now.
WolvesAreComing
72
Soft and subtle, there are no bangers here. Instead you'll find a tender exploration of modern themes of technology assisted loneliness and self-isolated radicalisation. A fogged up mirror held up to the world, obscured by dreamy sighs.
88
bonne composition qui mérite parfois un peu plus de rythme
NTTR
56
Genre: Dream Pop
Origin: UK

Final Verdict: 56% (Pleasant Album)
Yearly ranking: 167th / 267

Highlight: Before they excavate

Made me think of:
Smoke Fairies
Daughter
Fiona Apple
Angel Olsen
Kate Davis
WatermyGucci
81
1. When It All Comes True -/7
2. Baddies -/10
3. Every Atom -/9
4. Blue Screen Beams -/10
5. Before They Excavate -/7
6. Swimming Lessons -/10
7. Secrets & Medicine -/8
8. This Is Not a Drill -/7
9. A Fitting End -/5
STW
90
This album has some very powerful moments that I can't help but love.
84
fav tracks: When all comes true; Baddies; Every Atom; Swimming Lessons; Secrets & Medicine; This Is Not A Drill.

great album cover.
Great record.
VeniseZoomer
74
[NSR][NTTA]
Why is this label as dreammmmmm pop?
Why...
Why are all the songs so bland....
Why....
Why the critic score is so high....
Why....
showing 1 - 25 of 30 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
8

80-89
 
34

70-79
 
57

60-69
 
50

50-59
 
23

40-49
 
2

30-39
 

20-29
 

10-19
 

0-9
 
1

57%of users like this album
1%of users don't like this album
Hide Ads
Hide Ads
Popular Albums
Dua Lipa - Future Nostalgia
Dua Lipa
Future Nostalgia
Yves Tumor - Heaven To A Tortured Mind
Yves Tumor
Heaven To A Tortured Mind
Thundercat - It Is What It Is
Thundercat
It Is What It Is
The Weeknd - After Hours
The Weeknd
After Hours
Nicolas Jaar - Cenizas
Nicolas Jaar
Cenizas
Childish Gambino - 3.15.20
Childish Gambino
3.15.20

March Playlist
Forums