The Allegory

Royce da 5'9'' - The Allegory
Critic Score
Based on 8 reviews
2020 Ratings: #352 / 693
User Score
Based on 246 ratings
2020 Ratings: #718
Liked by 3 people
February 21, 2020 / Release Date
LP / Format
EOne Music / Label
Hip Hop / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review



Sonically, thematically, lyrically — on every level, Royce gives The Allegory his all. And the result is the best LP yet in his 20-year-strong career.


The Allegory is an album that defines Royce Da 5’9 as a wise artist who raps his lessons as a teacher, albeit, a confident and aggressively punchy one.


‘The Allegory’ stands up as an accomplished body of work, packed full of poetic intricacies and life lessons, soundtracked by the sound of Detroit; it will likely end up on the majority of 2020 end-of-year rap lists.


On The Allegory, Royce prioritizes message over music. The statements he makes during songs are more memorable than the songs themselves.

Q Magazine
At 22 tracks - including a spoken interlude by Eminem - there's a lot to digest here. But, Crucially, a lot worth digesting.
The Young Folks

Royce pulls out all the stops on The Allegory and shows how far he’s developed as an artist.

The Needle Drop

Royce 5'9 is in rare form as both an MC and producer on The Allegory, an album somewhat marred by occasionally questionable messaging and a muddled concept.


The latest from the Detroit rapper is impressively self-produced and features as many showy passages as clunky stumbling blocks.

The Allegory is a bit of an intellectual album, which will generally delight hip-hop lovers. It's not new, we knew that Royce Da 5'9" is a talented rapper, have a great pen, we know globally his qualities and I'm not surprised to have here again a good album, well built and well done. However, Allegory presents some originality and surprises that make this album perhaps the most thoughtful and clever of his discography.

Already I am bluffed, even if we knew his qualities as a producer, ... read more
Anti-Vax bullshit aside, this was one of the least interesting rap albums I've heard in a while...
Royce returns with The Allegory after two years and all I can say is that I'm satisfied with this album but it has some questionable messages.

Firstly he's an anti-vax advocate which is definitely one of the stupidest things that people advocate for, it's irresponsible and wrong so when he mentioned it in his lyrics I was both cringing and annoyed.

Secondly he suffers from post-Eminem Kamikaze syndrome which essentially means he's talking down on modern day rappers for the music they make ... read more

Good job Royce, this album is one of your most lyrical albums to date. Some lyrics on this album had me jumping up and down "YES ROYCE, PREACH" and others had me cringing so fucking hard. Sucks to hear that Royce is an anti-vaxxer man. The topics on this record have to do a lot with racism and discrimination. Which Royce tackles really well. There is no set and stone theme to this album but the themes he goes over are pretty hard-hitting (besides, ya know). The production on ... read more
*this review is subject to change, this is my first listen thoughts , if I change my rating/thoughts or critique the score I’ll edit this at the end*

Royce is in my top 10 of all time. I love the man as a MC and I think he’s just very smart with his releases and he always brings something great to the table with every release I’ve heard from him. After hearing the 4 singles they were all pretty darn good , Overcomer and Black savage being my favorites. Going into this album I ... read more
Purchasing The Allegory from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Mr. Grace
  2. Dope Man (feat. Emanny & Cedric the Entertainer)
  3. I Don't Age
  4. Pendulum (feat. Ashley Sorrell)
  5. I Play Forever (feat. Grafh)
  6. Ice Cream
  7. On the Block (feat. Oswin Benjamin & DJ Premier)
  8. Generation Is Broken
  9. Overcomer (feat. Westside Gunn)
  10. Ms. Grace
  11. Thou Shall (feat. Kid Vishis)
  12. Fubu (feat. Conway the Machine)
  13. A Black Man's Favorite Shoe
  14. Upside Down (feat. Ashley Sorrell & Benny the Butcher)
  15. Perspective
  16. Tricked (feat. KXNG Crooked)
  17. Black People in America
  18. Black Savage (feat. Sy Ari Da Kid, White Gold, Cyhi The Prynce & T.I.)
  19. Rhinestone Doo Rag
  20. Young World (feat. Vince Staples & G Perico)
  21. My People Free (feat. Ashley Sorrell)
  22. Hero (feat. White Gold)
Sign in to comment

Added on: January 21, 2020