Buddy Holly

Buddy Holly - Buddy Holly
Critic Score
Based on 1 review
User Score
Based on 83 ratings
1958 Ratings: #9
Liked by 7 people
Sign In to rate and review


1. I'm Gonna Love You: 8,0/10.
2. Peggy Sue: 9,5/10.
3. Look At Me: 9,0/10.
4. Listen To Me: 10/10.
5. Valley of Tears: 10/10.
6. Ready Teddy: 9,0/10.
7. Everyday: 10/10.
8. Mailman, Bring Me No More Blues: 10/10.
9. Words of Love: 9,5/10.
10. (You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care: 10/10.
11. Rave On: 10/10.
12. Little Baby: 8,0/10.

Average: 9,4/10.


[I invite you to read my previous review of the album he released with his band The Crickets - The Chirping Crickets (1957) to better understand his life and this one]
To put this in context, Buddy Holly and his band had just released a fantastic album in November 1957, which was a groundbreaking album that was a serious success, even placing 5th in the UK album sales chart. Their second single Oh Boy, featured on the album reached the Billboard top 10 and was featured on several TV shows: The ... read more


Buddy Holly's 1958 self-titled album is perhaps my favourite rockabilly album of all time. It just stands out as one of the most unique and ahead of its time albums in the genre in my eyes and some of the sounds explored on this are like little else heard at the time. This in turn has helped the album age incredibly well and it stands as an impressive achievement in rock & roll even to this day. Buddy Holly's infectious and catchy performances are just as good as it gets for me in the ... read more

Purchasing Buddy Holly from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
philthy, Hudok
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. I'm Gonna Love You Too
  2. Peggy Sue
  3. Look At Me
  4. Listen To Me
  5. Valley Of Tears
  6. Ready Teddy
  7. Everyday
  8. Mailman, Bring Me No More Blues
  9. Words Of Love
  10. (You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care
  11. Rave On
  12. Little Baby
Sign in to comment

Added on: September 28, 2014