The Inevitable End

Röyksopp - The Inevitable End
Critic Score
Based on 18 reviews
2014 Ratings: #412 / 845
User Score
Based on 49 ratings
2014 Ratings: #274
November 11, 2014 / Release Date
LP / Format
Cherrytree / Interscope / Label
Electropop, Synthpop / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account. / Website
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review


The Line of Best Fit

This is a stunning record, principally because of its narrative arc and complete cohesion – it's easy to see why they're leaving the traditional format if they've perfected it.


Many of the tracks recall earlier Röyksopp material, a combination of their debut album Melody A.M. and the pop sensibility of Junior, while still remaining undeniably new and fresh. 


The only thing that prevents The Inevitable End from being a career highlight is its final section, which drifts a bit too far into the ether. 


‘The Inevitable End’ finds a balance between giddy electronics and more settled grace. If this is a group’s last dying words, it’s the sound of two musicians coming to terms with their diverse output, allowing worlds to collide.


It's a strong finale in the duo's signature style and whether or not this truly is the end or merely the end of their album era, The Inevitable End sits among the best in Röyksopp's catalog.

The 405

There are lovely moments on this album, but often they are repeated far too many times and for far too long; it's a fatal mishandling of what could be a lithe and catchy collection of electro-pop.

Drowned in Sound

As an album it’s not much fun: there’s a bleakness seeping from every note, and of that wide-eyed, bouncing twinkle, that 'Eple' wonder with which the duo announced themselves back in 2001 there’s very little hint. 

Old disco meets nu disco under Moroder's protection and the ball is still moving round and round.
A quite mixed bag of good and bad

Fav track: Monument (ft. Robyn)

Least fav track: Rong (ft. Robyn)
A handful of real bangers and some other good tracks.
In particular, what I most enjoy about this final release of the Norwegian electronic duo, Röyksopp is in how it flows from track to track enveloping me in gorgeous synth phrasing with nuanced embellishments as it proceeds to make way into a dreamy space of delightful euphoric Electronica. Both Robyn and Jamie Irrepressible (Jamie McDermott) lend their unique vocal styling to the album as do Susanne Sundfør and Man Without Country (Ryan James.) The percussion beats are not ... read more
Purchasing The Inevitable End from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?

Track List

  1. Skulls 
  2. Monument [ft. Robyn] (T.I.E. Version) 
  3. Sordid Affair  [ft. Ryan James of Man Without Country] 
  4. You Know I Have To Go [ft. Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles]
  5. Save Me [ft. Susanne Sundfør]
  6. I Had This Thing [ft. Jamie McDermott] 
  7. Rong [ft. Robyn]
  8. Here She Comes Again [ft. Jamie McDermott]
  9. Running to the Sea [ft. Susanne Sundfør]
  10. Compulsion [ft. Jamie McDermott]
  11. Coup de Grace
  12. Thank You
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.
In Library (5)

Added on: September 29, 2014