Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
This album has been my first experience listening to a full solo project of Ada Rook's and I was quite blown away. The songwriting is vulnerable and emotional, the production can be abrasive at times but is mostly shrouded in a melancholic sense of beauty from start to finish. 2,020 Knives is much more low key then her work as a part of Black Dresses but leaves it's own sonic footprint that is just as amazing. My favourite tracks include Black Cloud in The Sky, Total Paralysis, 2,020 Hands, I ... read more
Favorite Tracks:
Black Cloud in the Sky?, 2,020 Hands, Glass, I Don't Want to Hurt You, Someday, September, Strangers, Broken Wires, An Ocean

Least Favorite Tracks:
fuckk,, i want to love all songs on here the same, but stuff like "september" really brings it down for me. there are softer songs on here that are good, but that's not one of them.

original score: 100
original review:
2,020 knives is ada rook at her most personal, with extremely emotional lyrics and deliveries, and the production is so much more developed and intricate than 2018's shed blood, which i enjoyed a lot as well. shrouded in noise, this album is raw in all sorts ... read more
Love at first listening - briefly about this opus. The only album in 2020 that could touch my heart and become the closest, soulful and personal record ever. The ideal mixture of industrial, noise and pop sound that brings to the perfect structure in every track.
good - 7/10

Despite it's too-long runtime and the lack of lyrical variety, 2,020 Knives is an exciting project filled with creativity and energy. Crazy production runs amok on most tracks with no restraint and it somehow works to create catchy hooks and songs that are constantly changing and growing as you listen.

Faves: Black Cloud in the Sky? // Reverie // 2,020 Knives // 2,020 Hands // Someday // An Ocean
Least Faves: From a Different World // Wake // September
Purchasing 2,020 Knives from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Tortured Bitch
  2. Black Cloud in the Sky? (NO SPOILERS) [Hire the Oracle They Only Write Hits]
  3. Conduit - (13th Song About _____) - Anything Else. [Unfinished]
  4. Reverie (JH Ligation Experiment 1)
  5. Total Paralysis at the First Notes of Immaterial Crying and Ashamed and Wishing I Could Disappear Into the Lights (JH Ligation Experiment 2)
  6. Lost Kids/The Juvenile Hormone. I. Endocrine Activity of the Corpora Allata of the Adult Cecropia Silkworm
  7. 2,020 Knives
  8. 2,020 Hands
  9. From a Different World/The Juvenile Hormone. II. Its Role in the Endocrine Control of Molting, Pupation, And Adult Development in the Cecropia Silkworm
  10. Glass/Remain/Rust (Fade Away)
  11. I Don't Want to Hurt You (14)
  12. Wake (Psychography Experiment 24-04-19 I) - World Doesn't Hold Together
  13. Breathe (Psychography Experiment 24-04-19 II) - NONE of THIS IS ABOUT TR__S SHIT
  14. Someday (Dear ______) - World Doesn't Come Apart
  15. September - Distance Holding World Together
  16. Strangers - Silk Thread Growing Through the Glass Tube Bisecting the Abdomen of a Cecropia Moth Hatched in Captivity - DNA - Nothing Here.
  17. Broken Wires (feat. Katie Dey)
  18. An Ocean
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: March 25, 2020