Shabazz Palaces - Black Up
84
User Score (211)
Your Review
Reviews
Ratings
Jul 1, 2018
amygoodall
90
this album makes me happy I'm devoting my life to creating things
Feb 27, 2018
Feedme120
70
VERY OK
Feb 1, 2018
itsyahboinoah
90
Bumps in the whip
Aug 5, 2014
snarekickblues
91
Best Track: Free Press and Curl; An Echo From the Hosts That Profess Infinitum; Are You. Can You. Were You? (Felt); Youlogy; Endeavors For Never; or Yeah You
Worst Track: The King's New Clothes Were Made By His Own Hands
Most Overrated Track: Swerve... the Reeping of All That is Worthwhile (Noir Not Withstanding)
Most Underrated Track: A Treatease Dedicated To the Avian Airess From North East Nubis (1000 Questions, 1 Answer)
Sep 10, 2018
andreAnimator
85
Must hear
Sep 2, 2018
Claytastic
87
This album is front-to-back full of low key, surrealist bangers that find their priorities in rhyming schemes and lyrics (both done incredibly well) as opposed to production. In the age of mumble rap failing to deliver on either, Black Up is a refreshing and much needed return to the days of A Tribe Called Quest and Wu-Tang Clan, where more minimalistic production meant a larger focus on the rapper's ability to spit bars. In that regard, the duo doesn't disappoint.
Aug 18, 2018
therawreviewer
80
favs: free press and curl, an echo from the hosts that profess infinitum, recollections of the wraith, swerve...the reeling of all that worthwhile
Least fav: a treatise dedicated to the avian Airess from north east Nubis (1000 questions, 1 answer)
Apr 23, 2018
CheapandLethal
80
Good
Apr 30, 2017
83
Canciones Favoritas: Free Press and Curl, An Echo From the Hosts That Profess Infinitum, Are You… Can You… Were You?, Youlogy, Recollections of the Wraith, Swerve… The Reeping of All That Is Worthwhile
Mar 30, 2017
FearFlour
75
I like it. I don't love it but I like it. Definitely check it out if you're interested in Experimental Hip-Hop.

Fav track: Endeavors for Never
Dec 9, 2016
MarkCooper
84
One of my favorite hip-hop albums ever production-wise. Even though the lyrics on here aren't fantastic, the way and spots he chooses to sing at (not gonna use the term 'flow') is an art form in its own.

Favorite Tracks: Youlogy, The King's New Clothes Were Made by His Own Hands, Endeavors for Never, Swerve...the Reeping of All That is Worthwhile
Sep 16, 2016*
theRoids
92
Very different kind of hip-hop album, awesome beats throughout, really cohesive project as a whole. Also, because of these song titles the best/worst songs section is gonna be a bitch to write.

Edit: Oh boy this album is a massive grower, definitely the best hip-hop album of 2011, and one of my faves this decade.

Best Songs: Free Press and Curl, An Echo From the Hosts That Profess Infinitum, Youlogy, Endeavors From the Never (the Last Time We Spoke You Said You Were Not Here. I Saw You ... read more
Aug 30, 2016
98
Excellent = 1-3, 5, 7, 10
Great = 4, 6, 8-9
Average = N/A
Bad = N/A
Trash = N/A

I can listen to Black Up at any given moment and be sent to a different world with its music.
Aug 16, 2016*
chessmess
90
Abstract and dark production that alongside some stellar percussion work creates one of the most vibrant and well textured hip hop experiences in the last 10 years. The album feels more like a compilation of Shabazz Palaces best songs considering how bland Lese Majesty was.
Apr 12, 2016
exception
76
i went into this LP knowing how shabazz palaces makes their music: minimal production, and pretty light vocals. honestly, it usually isnt my style of hip hop, but it is done so well on this project. to be frank, the lyrics bored me and were nothing particularly unique, but the production is what kept me listening. there are some moments when i had to keep repeating a section of a track because the beat was just so obscure. the minimalism is really what saved this project i my eyes, because ... read more
Mar 24, 2015
NR
This album is very unique and a great music experience.
Jan 21, 2015
Ideekay
96
Black Up is truly beautiful, experimental hip-hop album with jazzy production and abstract lyrics, clearly inspired by African culture.

FAVS: Are You... Can You... Were You? (Felt),
Recollections of the Wraith
Swerve... the Reeping of All That is Worthwile
(Noir Not Withstanding)
Nov 22, 2014
tha138
84
Philosophic, hip-hop psychedelia that attracts, like a sharpen magnet, every sparkle that passes by.
Intriguing.
Nov 21, 2013
Jpetes
95
one of my favourites to come out in the last few years
Oct 7, 2013
MrRicoSlick
96
Psychedelic sounds and dissonance that contradicts itself by being highly pleasurable, making for a unique musical odyssey that makes thinking outside the box an understatement when it comes to defining nay confining this album. It transcends Hip Hop, it elevates music.
showing 1 - 20 of 20 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
73

80-89
 
106

70-79
 
22

60-69
 
5

50-59
 
1

40-49
 
1

30-39
 
1

20-29
 

10-19
 
1

0-9
 
1

95%of users like this album
1%of users don't like this album
Popular Albums
Noname - Room 25
Noname
Room 25
Low - Double Negative
Low
Double Negative
Aphex Twin - Collapse EP
Aphex Twin
Collapse EP
Idles - Joy as an Act of Resistance
Idles
Joy as an Act of Resistance
Kanye West - ye
Kanye West
ye
6LACK - East Atlanta Love Letter
6LACK
East Atlanta Love Letter

September Playlist
AOTY Discord
Forums