Nightfall in Middle-Earth

Blind Guardian - Nightfall in Middle-Earth
Critic Score
Based on 2 reviews
User Score
Based on 71 ratings
1998 Ratings: #46
Liked by 15 people
April 28, 1998 / Release Date
LP / Format
Power Metal / Genres
Sign In to rate and review

Blind Guardian return in 1998, with not only their most progressive release but a power metal classic, Nightfall in Middle Earth, based upon The Siimarillion by Tolkien, Nightfall perfectly embodies that epic fantasy within their sound and as a fan of all of Tolkien's books it is such a magnificent feeling hearing a story told in the form of music which you adore, with interludes which although do slow the pace of the record tells the tale well and every song here is great with some classic and ... read more


It's time for me to come out as *gasps* a nerd. Nightfall in Middle-Earth is the first album that I've ever been into, even before I really started listening to music. I came across it on some fandom space about The Silmarillion (that's what this album is lyrically about). Heh, we all find our way to music somehow.
I've now relistened to this to see how well it holds up, now that I am familiar with more stuff, looking at things more objectively. Screw that, though; none of my reviews are ... read more


Great album, but not my favorite of Blind Guardian's catalogue. To me it features a lot of classic songs, but the album feels a bit long despite being around the same length as most of their albums and less consistant than what I would consider their masterpieces(Imaginations, Opera, etc).

Purchasing Nightfall in Middle-Earth from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
patton, Tincan
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. War of Wrath
  2. Into the Storm
  3. Lammoth
  4. Nightfall
  5. The Minstrel
  6. The Curse of Feanor
  7. Captured
  8. Blood Tears
  9. Mirror Mirror
  10. Face the Truth
  11. Noldor (Dead Winter Reigns)
  12. Battle of Sudden Flame
  13. Time Stands Still (At the Iron Hill)
  14. The Dark Elf
  15. Thorn
  16. The Eldar
  17. Nom the Wise
  18. When Sorrow Sang
  19. Out on the Water
  20. The Steadfast
  21. A Dark Passage
  22. Final Chapter (Thus Ends...)
Sign in to comment

Added on: January 4, 2015