Ain't No Peace

Akon - Ain't No Peace
Critic Score
User Score
Based on 17 ratings
Liked by 1 person
July 31, 2020 / Release Date
LP / Format
- / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
'Ain't No Peace' is pretty much a best case scenario for an Akon album in 2020: not the worst thing I've heard even this year, yet still extremely dated, corny and stale. I can't say I expected much more to be fair.
This is actually pretty good Akon

It’s kinda weird to hear political views from the guy who sang I Wanna Love You, but this was a very decent project. A lot of these songs are fairly boring music-wise, but they actually work because of the lyrics. It clocks in at just under 30 minutes which is great: it gets his message across without overstaying it’s welcome.

“How do we dig ourselves out when we can’t afford the shovel”
-System Ain’t For Us
I don't even remember the last time I listened to a full Akon project. This was honestly a bit better than I expected. He's obviously not really an artist that can pump out hits like he did in the 2000s, but I can appreciate the political lyrics.

Favorite tracks: Sweet Love
Least favorite: Letter to my Son
I've never been a fan of Akon's music, but this project kind of took me by surprise. It's a really enjoyable pop rap album with some super catchy hooks and surprisingly conscious lyrics. I was honestly really surprised that such an introspective and lyrical album came from an artist who I previously associated with mindless party rap. It's definitely nothing amazing, but it was a ton of fun to listen to and it left me smiling when it was over.
It's a good album for protesting.
Purchasing Ain't No Peace from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. New Life (feat. Mali Music)
  2. Sweet Love
  3. Letter To My Son
  4. System Ain't For Us (feat. OG Boo Dirty)
  5. Ain't No Peace
  6. Get Out (feat. Rick Ross)
  7. Remember
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: July 30, 2020