Crack A Light

Dope Body - Crack A Light
Critic Score
Based on 2 reviews
User Score
Based on 43 ratings
Liked by 1 person
Sign In to rate and review



Crack a Light is by some counts the group's fourth proper studio album, and pushes their danceable art rock in new directions while keeping explosive energy at the center of every track.

The Needle Drop

Despite its solid first half and finale, Crack a Light is Dope Body's most predictable batch of tracks thus far.


Not super huge on this one, to be quite honest. This is by far the band's most generic and safe. The first couple of cuts are great and see the band going back to the sound of albums such as "Kunk" and "Lifer" but as it goes on it just drags its feet. So many songs pale in comparison to the band's more eclectic and fun work. Some songs feel boring, others are only Dope Body in name. The album is so safe and nondescript compared to other releases and actually felt like a ... read more


Having a bit of deja vu here, because it was only a few months ago when I discovered Dope Body's Home Body after it was released earlier this year. Even if it had that home recording aesthetic, it was some of the noisiest, most thrilling and abrasive rock albums I heard in 2020. Crack a Light dropped only months later, and it has production that is cleaner; still rough, but clearer. What also changed though, was the quality of the music; (spoiler, it went down), because to me, this has the ... read more


Okay guys we get it, you're sorry about the hiatus, you can stop dropping great music now.

Purchasing Crack A Light from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Curve
  2. Clean & Clear
  3. Lethargic
  4. Jer Bang
  5. Daylight
  6. Lu Lu
  7. Lo & Behold
  8. The Sculptor
  9. Mutant Being
  10. More
  11. Hypocrite
  12. My Man
  13. Frank Says Relapse
  14. Known Unknown
Sign in to comment

Added on: August 17, 2020