The Rarities

Mariah Carey - The Rarities
Critic Score
Based on 5 reviews
User Score
Based on 55 ratings
Liked by 7 people
October 2, 2020 / Release Date
Compilation / Format
Sign In to rate and review


The Line of Best Fit

Mariah Carey’s latest record offers its listeners with a glimpse into the development of the singer’s extensive artistry, documenting her influence – and indeed her presence – in the popular music that has emerged since her debut.


The Rarities offers us a unique window into this songbird’s nuanced creative processes and abiding passions—and we are all the better for it.

Mariah Carey's self-titled first album turned 30 in 2020. Rather than shine new light on her multi-platinum breakthrough, Carey chose to take a broader look at her history.
Slant Magazine

Removed from the fog of nostalgia, it becomes clear just how steered toward the middle of the road Mariah’s early-‘90s output was.


There's sadly no material from the star's recently revealed '90s grunge project, but this collection of B-sides and alternative versions is still effervescent.

This shit slaps. Mariah is still goated.

That track with Lauryn Hill...goddamn!
Mariah Carey's eighth compilation album takes you through a mesmerising hour-long journey of her development from a young adult into the world-famous superstar diva she embodies today. Indeed, Carey's incredible vocal prowess has remained a constant since her self-titled debut album from 1990 - and thankfully shows no signs of stopping! Released to coincide with promotion for the 30th anniversary of the aforementioned album, "The Rarities" shows the best, and only the best, of one of ... read more
Even Mariah's discarded ones are worth listening to
To close the anniversary celebration “MC30” which included a long-awaited memoir and the release of forgotten remixes to streaming services, Mariah Carey releases ‘The Rarities’, a career-spanning collection of unreleased tracks, B-sides, and alternative versions of her favorite songs in addition to a full disc of Carey’s best ever concert - her Daydream World Tour show in Tokyo in 1996. The compilation is an insightful look into Mariah’s evolution as both an ... read more
Mariah Carey will forever be a powerhouse, and this record full of bops SPANNING THREE DECADES, proves that! The fact that these were discarded hurts my soul. Mariah if you're reading this, if you wanna do more albums like this, I'd be forever grateful!
Purchasing The Rarities from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists


Track List

  1. Here We Go
  2. Can You Hear Me
  3. Do You Think Of Me
  4. Everything Fades Away
  5. All I Live For
  6. One Night
  7. Slipping Away
  8. Out Here On My Own
  9. Loverboy (Firecracker - Original Version)
  10. I Pray
  11. Cool On You
  12. Mesmerized
  13. Lullaby of Birdland
  14. Save the Day | with Mr. Lauryn Hill
  15. Close My Eyes (Original Version)
  16. Daydream Interlude (Fantasy Sweet Dub Mix)
  17. Emotions (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  18. Open Arms (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  19. Forever (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  20. I Don't Wanna Cry (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  21. Fantasy (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  22. Always Be My Baby (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  23. One Sweet Day (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  24. Underneath the Stars (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  25. Without You (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  26. Make It Happen (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  27. Just Be Good to Me (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  28. Dreamlover (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  29. Vision of Love (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  30. Hero (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  31. Anytime You Need a Friend (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
  32. All I Want for Christmas Is You (Live at the Tokyo Dome)
Sign in to comment

Added on: August 18, 2020