Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
while it has its flaws here and there, isabella james’ self titled album is very good overall.
what i liked: great instrumentals, beautiful voice
what to improve on: some tracks can stretch on for too long, lyrics can get a little too bleak at times
faves:battle at mt zion, a la pursuit, feel me in your skin, detransitioning, my hatred
least faves: hitachi, six cruisers
Sonically it's her best album. Lyrically? Maybe her worst? That might be too far actually there's some pretty great lyrics on here. But I just feel in comparison to Climbing Mt. Zion I just do not feel the same energy. Long stretches of lyrics just repeating "I don't want to be alive" or non-melodic moments of discussing how it doesn't matter if we live gay or trans we will all die. It just is... depressing. At worst kinda genericly depressing like the "I don't want to be ... read more
An album bursting at the seams with so much creativity it's insane, Isabella James's self-titled is her boldest musical statement yet, being the most electronically focused, yet also sonically diverse album she's ever made. Her lyrics are still very personal, the mixing is a lot better, and her vocals are still emotive while having genuine improvement, making them a lot more pleasing overall.

However, you'd be lying if you said this was anything other than complete mess of a project. I'm sure ... read more
Fake and gay.

UPDATE: Isabella James
I Hate Isabella James, She's Awesome

Honestly, how the fuck did this even happen. This project was so crazy and all over the place and it doesn't work, at all. But why do I love it??? This was sonically amazing and so well done, the mixing of genres felt so combusted and connected at the same time. Her last project I heard was forgettable and pretty bad, but for some reason, this one really stuck with me. Maybe because the messages hit harder to me this time and really struck a chord in ... read more
Purchasing Isabella James from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Hitachi SH-2 or; Bookends (Part 1)
  2. Battle At Mt. Zion
  3. À la poursuite des fantômes
  4. Six Cruisers Commissioned Under George Washington's Authority As Commander In Chief Of The Continental Army or; 7763 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34746
  5. I Want You To Feel Me In Your Skin, I Want You To Hold Me In Your Hand
  6. Detransitioning Comes For Us All When We Die (with Josh T Pearson and Hatsune Miku)
  7. My hatred for my body and my inability to do anything about it
  8. This Tree Is Set To Fell (The Devil Had The Right Idea)
  9. Isabella James (9th Symphony) or; Bookends (Part 2)
Sign in to comment

Added on: October 11, 2020