Cuttin' Grass - Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions)

Sturgill Simpson - Cuttin' Grass - Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions)
Critic Score
Based on 1 review
User Score
Based on 17 ratings
October 16, 2020 / Release Date
LP / Format
- / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review


Accompanied by some of the best players in the scene, the country maverick performs bluegrass versions of highlights from his back catalog, revealing the hidden roots of his idiosyncratic songwriting.
Sturgill Simpson comes outta nowhere with 3 new songs and 17 covers of his previous material, astounding. An odd choice when you take into account that most of these covers don't really hold a candle to there counterparts, a damn shame, and of course theres the new tracks which are fine, nothing too crazy. This album at the end of the day is just ok, ok covers, new songs that are just ok, its just ok.
I believe the story goes that Sturgill promised a new album this year if his fans reached a certain threshold of $ for a charity he was involved in, so here it is. I guess these are the best of the best musicians when it comes to the bluegrass game, which frankly is a genre I know very little of nor am I a big fan of. Still, its nice to hear these alternate versions of past tunes even if they aren't as enjoyable as the original. At least not for me... Still its a good time and nice album to mix ... read more
get my ass to appalachia and let me run amongst the hillbilly communists!
Purchasing Cuttin' Grass - Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions) from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Orangedroog65, dearsongs
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. All Around You
  2. All the Pretty Colors
  3. Breakers Roar
  4. I Don’t Mind
  5. I Wonder
  6. Just Let Go
  7. Life Ain’t Fair
  8. A Little Light
  9. Life of Sin
  10. Long White Line
  11. Living the Dream
  12. Old King Coal
  13. Railroad of Sin
  14. Sitting Here Without You
  15. Sometimes Wine
  16. The Storm
  17. Time After All
  18. Turtles All the Way Down
  19. Voices
  20. Water in a Well
Sign in to comment

Added on: October 13, 2020