Serial Killers Presents: Summer of Sam

Xzibit, B-Real & Demrick - Serial Killers Presents: Summer of Sam
Critic Score
Based on 1 review
User Score
Based on 10 ratings
Liked by 1 person
October 16, 2020 / Release Date
LP / Format
Open Bar Entertainment, EMPIRE / Label
Hip Hop / Genres
Xzibit, B-Real, Demrick / Primary Artists
Sign In to rate and review


Beats Per Minute

With Dem Jointz and co. behind the boards, and three impassioned rappers barraging you with quickly succeeding verses, it’s impossible for Summer of Sam to fail

The Serial Killers release another album that gets dragged incredibly far down by the production.

I'm starting to feel like these guys can't buy good beats to save their lives. I mean seriously, they all sound so amateurish and void of uniqueness, it's like I'm listening to the same horrible thing every time.

However, the awful production doesn't take away from the fact that they've improved on their songwriting and lyricism on this project. They all contribute some steady flows and witty ... read more
Summer Of Sam is a step up from Xzibit, B-Real & Demrick's earlier Serial Killers mixtapes, but not by much. The beats are the weakest aspect of this project, but lyrically there is nothing memorable either - not in the positive sense of the word anyway. A project like this one attracts attention because Xzibit and B-Real are involved, but being an industry icon is not enough to automatically elevate an album to a higher level. Guests like Snoop Dogg, Busta Rhymes, and DJ Quik can't save ... read more
Serial Killers' albums are usually pretty terrible, but this is a slight step up in songwriting. They still get way too shitty of production on this series though, always my #1 complaint. That and corny content, which this album definitely isn't without. "Quarantine" is the worst song of the year, and a few after that are almost as cliche and cringey.
Raw as fuck...
Purchasing Serial Killers Presents: Summer of Sam from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Surprise!, Z.Younk, robhak
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Before the Streets Lock Down
  2. Normal
  3. White Power
  4. Summer of Sam
  5. Quarantine (feat. Kharmony Fortune)
  6. Triggered (feat. Snoop Dogg)
  7. Powder Keg
  8. Loaded
  9. Man Down (feat. Busta Rhymes & Jahsee)
  10. War In The Streets
  11. I Feel Great (feat. DJ Quik)
  12. Catch A Body
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: October 15, 2020