Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (Deluxe)

Gorillaz - Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (Deluxe)
Critic Score
User Score
Based on 27 ratings
October 23, 2020 / Release Date
Reissue / Format
Parlophone / Label
- / Genres
Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
Oh I'm so sorry daddy Albarn, it was wrong of me not to spend $80 on a full album release, let me pull out my wallet real quick
*Only regarding the bonus tracks (12-17)*

These are just decent. I would've preferred that "How Far?" been added onto the actual album, but at least it got its own single release earlier in the year. JPEGMAFIA's track wasn't bad either. It may be worth buying the deluxe vinyl set just for those two songs. The other four are tolerable enough to sit through and not get bored.
the bonus tracks are so damn non-essential
Opium - At first, I thought this house odyssey was just way too long, but I grew to really appreciate it's infectious rhythms and the amazing synth fueled slow build up that leads into an instrumental switch with both Damon and EARTHGANG delivering very great performances, it's a powerhouse of a song, and a good one at that. 8/10

Simplicity - I like the sensual grooves and melodies in the instrumental, they are quite lovely, but the song is quite boring in comparison with others in the ... read more
This review consists only of thoughts about the tracks annexed in the Deluxe version of this record, which obviously will entirely exclude elements of the normal presentation of the album.

I'm going to follow the tracklist order to make the review more clear and concise.

'Opium' starts a little boring with 2 minutes of instrumental build up. It gets entirely better with Olu singing. The beat and the lyrics are very relaxing and refreshing, especially if you listen to it after finishing the ... read more
Purchasing Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez (Deluxe) from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Strange Timez (ft. Robert Smith)
  2. The Valley of The Pagans (ft. Beck)
  3. The Lost Chord (ft. Leee John)
  4. Pac-Man (ft. ScHoolboy Q)
  5. Chalk Tablet Towers (ft. St Vincent)
  6. The Pink Phantom (ft. Elton John and 6LACK)
  7. Aries (feat. Peter Hook and Georgia)
  8. Friday 13 th (ft. Octavian)
  9. Dead Butterflies (ft. Kano and Roxani Arias)
  10. Désolé (ft. Fatoumata Diawara) (Extended Version)
  11. Momentary Bliss (ft. slowthai and Slaves)
  12. Opium (ft. EARTHGANG)
  13. Simplicity (ft. Joan As Police Woman)
  14. Severed Head (ft. Goldlink and Unknown Mortal Orchestra)
  15. With Love To An Ex (ft. Moonchild Sanelly)
  16. MLS (feat. JPEGMAFIA and CHAI)
  17. How Far? (ft. Tony Allen and Skepta)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: October 22, 2020