Mouse on Mars - AAI
Critic Score
Based on 5 reviews
2021 Ratings: #131 / 593
User Score
Based on 35 ratings
Liked by 3 people
Sign In to rate and review
This record fascinates me. I’ll admit that musically it can be a little meandering at times and there are a lack of real ‘bangers’ on here. But man, the idea behind this thing is so cool. An actual AI delivering the vocals?? That’s amazing.

This is also impressive as it doesn’t really come of as gimmicky. It works into the narrative of the record. The vocals are wobbly and childlike in ‘Speech and Ambulation’ - growing into themselves as the track ... read more
I don't really understand what's the point of this? I think that it is a kind of experiment, Mouse on Mars wanted to show, how artificial intelligence would have sounded if it had had a voice I guess. Well great experiment, the result is that it sucks.
It's ok but also kinda disappointing.
This is easily one of the coolest concept albums: implementing AI, deep fakes and machine learning technology to create music about that very subject. The masterfully layered textures presented in the album help to create an atmosphere that feels like a fractured representation of humanities music. It strays into very strange and intriguing areas (e.g. the cut up ‘spoken’ sections) which makes it challenging to digest at times. Unfortunately, the musical quality of the tracks ... read more
Purchasing AAI from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Engineering Systems
  2. The Latent Space
  3. Speech And Ambulation
  4. Thousand To One
  5. Walking And Talking
  6. Youmachine
  7. Doublekeyrock
  8. Machine Rights
  9. Go Tick
  10. The Fear Of Machines
  11. Artificial Authentic
  12. Machine Perspective
  13. Cut That Fishernet
  14. Tools Use Tools
  15. Loose Tools
  16. Seven Months
  17. Paymig
  18. Borrow Signs
  19. New Definitions
  20. New Life Always Announces Itself Through Sound
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: October 29, 2020