Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
Critic Score
Based on 8 reviews
1995 Ratings: #137 / 441
User Score
Based on 505 ratings
1995 Ratings: #7
Liked by 12 people
October 24, 1995 / Release Date
LP / Format
Virgin / Label
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review
This has like. Everything I wanted in an album
The absolute definitive rock-album of all time. Packed with 28 heavy-hearted songs filled with angst, emotions of distress, love, sadness, and all other components that make life worth livable, this is the one album that could only be described as the pinnacle of modern rock music.

This album does not shy away from telling you how dark this void of an earth really is, or how frail and thin life really is when you search deep inside yourself. It speaks of how love is suicide, of how everybody ... read more
One rock record to rule them all.
Nostalgia and Maureen Power Hour #2:

this turned out to be a pleasant surprise, as i never found myself to be a Smashing Pumpkins fan. but here we are. this sprawling 3xLP album is as innovative as it is accessible, with heavy bangers like Jellybelly and lighter songs like Porcelina. the only thing keeping this from being a higher score is that it seems very scattered and unorganized. doesn’t seem like a song like Jellybelly would come after Tonight, Tonight, now would it? oh well. i ... read more
Assembled to near perfection, if this was a Marvel movie, it'd be Infinity War
Purchasing Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

Disc 1

  1. Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness 
  2. Tonight, Tonight 
  3. Jellybelly 
  4. Zero 
  5. Here Is No Why 
  6. Bullet With Butterfly Wings 
  7. To Forgive 
  8. An Ode To No One 
  9. Love 
  10. Cupid De Locke 
  11. Galapogos 
  12. Muzzle 
  13. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans 
  14. Take Me Down 

Disc 2

  1. Where Boys Fear To Tread 
  2. Bodies 
  3. Thirty-Three 
  4. In The Arms Of Sleep 
  5. 1979 
  6. Tales Of A Scorched Earth 
  7. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby 
  8. Stumbleine 
  9. X.Y.U. 
  10. We Only Come Out At Night 
  11. Beautiful 
  12. Lily (My One And Only) 
  13. By Starlight 
  14. Farewell And Goodnight
Sign in to comment

Added on: November 28, 2011