A.J. - Neptune
Critic Score
User Score
Based on 12 ratings
Liked by 4 people
February 21, 2021 / Release Date
LP / Format
Usagi Collective / Label
Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
I was really anticipating this album, and I think I ended up being overall underwhelmed. One thing that really set the Apple Juice Box music apart for me was the creativity that AJ brought to those projects. I don’t enjoy the influences that AJ has on this project. I’m not a huge Uzi fan, I dislike Nav, and I am indifferent towards Bladee. This album sounds a lot like those artists all combined Into a melting pot.

The production of this project is also very weak. I constantly found ... read more
This album is just insanely impressive and I'm so surprised by how professional and huge this whole project feels throughout, with how seamless the transitions are between tracks making a 67 minute album fly by like nothing, and a lot of the gorgeous production reminding me of Mike Dean's work heavily. While not all the vocals really do it for me (Planets and Psycho are the biggest offenders, as while they have crazy production I'm not big on them vocally), when the performances work they can ... read more
A.J. delivers a great improvement over his past work, however there is still a lot of room for improvement. A.J. is an artist I have been following for quite a while. His music used to be pretty bad but on the last 2 albums I heard he seems to have stepped up his game by quite a bit. I was very excited going into this album and I have many thoughts coming out of it.

The production on here is very well executed and while there are moments I thought were repetitive, A.J. does a great job of ... read more
Seeing A.J. go from his first EP to this album has been a weird journey, cause I never expected that the kid who would make the Instruments EP would make such a varied and impressive trap record.

A.J. is one of my best online friends, and it’s been a hell of a ride watching him constantly improve with every album and working with him. He’s got a really creative mind, full of extremely colorful melodies and catchy hooks, and he lays all of those out perfectly on his latest record, ... read more
You get harm
Purchasing Neptune from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Planets
  2. Celebrate (feat. Yung Schmoobin & JThousand)
  3. Perfect Time (feat. LVN Filo & Lil Toy Yoda)
  4. Tron: Legacy (feat. Emerald & Lil Nesley)
  5. Milli A Day
  6. Racks
  7. Rose Gold (feat. Lil Toy Yoda & Emerald)
  8. Forest (feat. Kid Floral)
  9. Neon Thunder / CC2 (feat. dog in the evening)
  10. Neptune
  11. Last Place (feat. Emerald)
  12. Psycho
  13. 17Kelvin (feat. Emerald)
  14. SLAYER (feat. Lil Mosquito Disease)
  15. Amethysts (feat. Emerald)
  16. Aw Fuck (feat. MAJORA)
  17. Volcano (feat. nathanhearts)
  18. RIOT
  19. Milky Wa
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: January 9, 2021