Your Old Droog - TIME
Critic Score
User Score
Based on 37 ratings
Liked by 2 people
June 11, 2021 / Release Date
LP / Format
- / Label
- / Genres
Sign In to rate and review


No critic reviews have been entered.
Blu & Mick Jenkins go together like a fine oaky malbec and some freshly harvested woodland truffles. Now all they need is just another pairing without Droog involved. DOOM & Wiki features stand-out too, but they're about all that does.
Just listened to it once, but this record is much better than his LPs with Tha God Fahim, and almost a return to form. I just got tired of YOD a few years back, it feels like he just keeps making the same album. Maybe I fucking suck and need to listen ... read more
This > Mach Hommy's Pray For Haiti
The first 5 tracks of this album honestly had me thinking we'd be getting a truly monumental release.

For real, the set up to this project is absolutely genius as we see Droog take the position as this anonymous figure who holds the key to time traveling as he interacts with others and transports them to their past lives to show either where things went wrong or to a point of simplicity and bliss. This is such an intriguing concept ripe with potential and while we do get songs that connect to ... read more
Not as impressive as his last few LP's (not with Fahim), but definitely his most personal and intimate/least abstract.
Please Listen To My Jew Tape (story of his come up in rap, dealing with labels, writing, fellow rappers, etc.) is a very good and interesting track.
Dropout Boogie w/ MF DOOM, So High, One Move w/ Blu & Mick Jenkins, Madson Ave, and No Time w/ Wiki are all great tracks too.
TIME is laser-tight. Meandering it's way through just a small number of themes and concepts. Droog expertly creatives a touching narrative exhibiting his experience the past time gone by and time ahead of him. All the features pull their weight and it's especially poignant to hear DOOM within the context of this album. Even if not one of the overall best, it may be the most important hip-hop album of the year so far.
Purchasing TIME from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Cordavision, grayson, rapmindset
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Time Intro
  2. The Magic Watch
  3. Please Listen To My Jew Tape
  4. Dropout Boogie (feat. MF DOOM)
  5. So High
  6. Lost Time
  7. You're So Sick
  8. Quiet Time
  9. Field Of Dreams (feat. Aesop Rock & Elzhi)
  10. One Move (feat. Blu & Mick Jenkins)
  11. The Other Way
  12. A Hip Hop Lullaby
  13. Madson Ave
  14. No Time (feat. Wiki)
  15. 4:49 Outro
Sign in to comment

Added on: June 11, 2021