Doe Or Die II

AZ - Doe Or Die II
Critic Score
Based on 1 review
User Score
Based on 27 ratings
Liked by 1 person
September 10, 2021 / Release Date
LP / Format
Quiet Money / Label
Sign In to rate and review
The production and mixing could definitely be better, but there are a good amount of solid tracks here still. Pretty nice sequel to to Doe or Die from over 25 years ago.

Favorite tracks: The Wheel, Never Enough, Blow that Shit, Check Me Out, Time To Answer
Least favorite: Found My Niche
I expected worse honestly, but still it all feels very predictable and slightly low-budget. If you've followed his career, this album feels pretty standard, but I will say his content is more consistent throughout this record than many of his recent offerings. It's thematically and sonically cohesive, but even his weaker albums are pretty well written and structured albums as a whole, one thing he's always been effective at.
AZ is one for those rappers that i can vibe to.

The boom bap sounds and good 808 bass.

He features some good artists like Conway and Lil Wayne.

Enjoyable experience.
This is quite good. Songs like 'Check Me Out' and particularly, 'Keep It Real', have the sound that do bring back memories of the original '95 'Doe or Die'. It's a smooth/soulful listen with AZ sounding and rapping as well as ever. There is nothing to match his best tracks, but as the list below shows, the consistency is great.

Best Tracks: The Wheel, Keep It Real, Never Enough, Different, Blow that Shit, Check Me Out, Time to Answer, Found My Niche
1. Conversations With God (Intro) [ft. Idris Elba] 1:51 ❌
2. Just 4 U 3:29 ✅
3. The Wheel (ft. Jaheim) 3:17 ✅
4. Keep It Real 2:58 ❌
5. Never Enough (ft. Rick Ross) 3:36 ⭐️
6. Different 3:44 ❌
7. Ritual (ft. Conway the Machine & Lil Wayne) 3:12 ⭐️
8. Blow That S#%t (ft. Dave East) 3:56 ⭐️
9. Bulletproof 4:14 ✅
10. Check Me Out 3:10 ✅
11. Time To Answer 3:00 ⭐️
12. Found My Niche 2:02 ✅
13. What’s Good (ft. T-Pain) [Bonus] 3:45 ❌

- 42 minutes

Would ... read more
Purchasing Doe Or Die II from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
anztec, Z.Younk, StreetsDisciple
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Conversation Wit God
  2. Just For You
  3. The Wheel
  4. Rep the Real
  5. Never Enough
  6. Different
  7. The Ritual
  8. Bullet Proof
  9. Get Money
  10. Check Me Out
  11. What’s Good
  12. Time to Answer
  13. Found My Niche
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: August 13, 2021