Emperor Tomato Ketchup

Stereolab - Emperor Tomato Ketchup
Critic Score
Based on 3 reviews
User Score
Based on 176 ratings
1996 Ratings: #22
Liked by 6 people
April 9, 1996 / Release Date
LP / Format
Duophonic, Elektra / Label
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review
I do slightly prefer Emperor Tomato Ketchup over Dots and Loops mainly because how amazing some of the stand out songs are. The opening track alongisde The Noise of Carpet are some increbile songs.

Track Review

Metronomic Underground 10/10
Cybele's Reverie 9.5/10
Percolator 9/10
Les Yper-Sound 8/10
Spark Plug 8.5/10.
Olv 26 7.5/10.
The Noise Of Carpet 9.5/10
Tomorrow Is Already Here 8/10
Emperor Tomato Ketchup 8.5/10.
Monstre Sacre 8/10
Motoroller Scalatron 8/10
Slow Fast Hazel ... read more
Stereolab is such a fun band, and I have to say ETK nails the vibe this band has given off throughout their entire career in one single album. It's almost too consistent in tone (though it jumps styles a lot) for it to be a favorite (I'm personally more partial to "Transient" and "Dots and Loops") but this is a great starting point for their discography, honestly!

Also I will gladly jump on the hype train for Cybele's Reverie. It's just that good.
It's hard for me not to rate this based only on Cybele's Reverie. That is seriously one of the greatest songs of all time imo. Nothing else on the record reaches its level of excellence, but it's a fantastic album nonetheless.

If there was one complaint I had with Mars Audiac Quintet, it was that the record could use some tightening up. Work on some tracks, lose some other ones abd you'd have a genuinely brilliant record. Lucky for us, Emperor Tomato Ketchup is pretty much that. The two ... read more
highlights: metronomic underground, cybele's reverie
Got a feeling that Stereolab's every song grew on my music taste
Purchasing Emperor Tomato Ketchup from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists


Track List

  1. Metronomic Underground 
  2. Cybele's Reverie 
  3. Percolator 
  4. Les Yper-Sound 
  5. Spark Plug 
  6. Olv 26 
  7. The Noise Of Carpet 
  8. Tomorrow Is Already Here 
  9. Emperor Tomato Ketchup 
  10. Monstre Sacre 
  11. Motoroller Scalatron 
  12. Slow Fast Hazel 
  13. Anonymous Collective
Sign in to comment

Added on: August 14, 2012