Carly Rae Jepsen - Kiss
Critic Score
Based on 10 reviews
2012 Ratings: #881 / 1032
User Score
Based on 286 ratings
2012 Ratings: #357
Liked by 4 people
September 18, 2012 / Release Date
LP / Format
Interscope / Label
Pop / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review
Mediocre MY ASS, this is just a perfect collection of sweet, catchy, early 2010's pop music. And aside from the egregious fact that Jusin Bieber is on this album, it actually really slaps. It's not really a revolutionary piece of pop or anything, but it's not trying to be.

Also, it's cute. It's really cute. Carly's voice is cute, the lyrics are cute, Carly herself is cute. It's a cute record. But not like a pitiful cute, it's more like a "this album is cute as hell and I love it" ... read more
"Kiss" is a purely unabashed pop album that is completely unfazed by its own sweetness, never stopping to forgive anyone for being so. Jepsen has created her very own girl-next-door sound which is immediately recognisable.

✅ This Kiss | Curiosity | Good Time | Turn Me Up | Tonight I'm Getting Over You | Guitar String / Wedding Ring
There’s this really catchy, poppy and overall jammy vibe that’s Carly Rae Jepsen radiates throughout almost the entirety of “Kiss”. Jepsen has shown that she can compete, while distinguish herself in terms of quality, from the rest of the dying, redundant, and radio-friendly pop genre that has been plaguing the ears of your everyday person with a preference of top 40 tunes that are predominantly talentless tripe that goes on to be overplayed and dried of its minimalistic ... read more
* Tiny Little Bows (7/10)
* This Kiss (8/10)
* Call Me Maybe (10/10)
* Curiosity (7/10)
* Good Time (8/10)
* More Than A Memory (6.5/10)
* Turn Me Up (6/10)
* Hurt So Good (6.5/10)
* Beautiful (7.5/10)
* Tonight I'm Getting Over You (9/10)
* Guitar String / Wedding Ring (6.5/10)
* Your Heart Is A Muscle (6/10)
* Drive (7/10)
* Wrong Feels So Right (7/10)
* Sweetie (7.5/10)
* I Know You Have A Girlfriend (7/10)
* Picture (6/10)
* Almost Said It (7/10)

Nota Final: 72/100
When compared now, this is the type of pop that is depressingly formulaic and cheesy that will rival Katy Perry in terms of playing safe. For its time though, this pop is much more substantial, experimental, and enjoyable than many claim to be, even when it contains the cult classic "Call Me Maybe" which has drawn the ire of many for being obnoxiously childish and the dance-y precursor to EDM bullshit "Good Time."
Purchasing Kiss from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
PINK MONTH, philthy, royalflush
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists

#40/Pazz & Jop

Track List

  1. Tiny Little Bows
  2. This Kiss
  3. Call Me Maybe
  4. Curiosity
  5. Good Time
  6. More Than A Memory
  7. Turn Me Up
  8. Hurt So Good
  9. Beautiful
  10. Tonight I'm Getting Over You
  11. Guitar String / Wedding Ring
  12. Your Heart Is A Muscle
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: December 12, 2012