Life After Death

The Notorious B.I.G. - Life After Death
Critic Score
Based on 6 reviews
1997 Ratings: #31 / 78
User Score
Based on 383 ratings
1997 Ratings: #22
Liked by 11 people
Sign In to rate and review
The second album released by The Notorious B.I.G. came out only around two weeks after he was murdered. These events occurred mere months after the death of Biggie's former friend turned coastal rival 2Pac, which left ripples in the fabric of hip hop history that will likely never stop being felt - the two faces of their respective regions murdered within a year of each other. The two had very short careers, with Pac only releasing four albums and Biggie only releasing two, but their lasting ... read more
A handful of middling tracks are a bit unfortunate, but B.I.G.'s sensational rhyme and flow abilities make even the most unlistenable of R Kelly features worth it. And there are some unquestionable, all-time Biggie songs on here - Hypnotize, Kick In The Door, What's Beef, Mo Money Mo Problems, I Got A Story To Tell, Notorious Thugs, Going Back To Cali, Ten Crack Commandments, Sky's The Limit.. yeah, if you have all these songs on one album, you can't tell me the album isn't an enjoyable ... read more
A lot of biggie's two albums enjoyability is for me ruined by Diddy just talking. To the point, where I would say Biggie doesn't have a classic, however that's entirely on Diddy, because Biggie's rapping his ass off on both projects.

I like Life After Death more simply cause there are more hits than misses for me compared to Ready To Die, and also this one doesn't have a sex skit. Why would anyone want to hear a rapper having sex on an album? I know you get girls - I don't need to hear ... read more
Finished A couple days after biggie died this perfect album came out it's fun and it's something you jam to and 90s music this is a example of a good posthumous album FAV TRACKS ten crack commandments hyponotize the rest least favourite track life after death 8/10
This still intrigues me till this day and I heard this album about 70 times. Biggie is just so iconic charismatic. I still prefer ready to die but I got the feeling that the highs here are higher.
Purchasing Life After Death from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Year End Lists

#4/Consequence of Sound

Track List

Disc 1

  1. Life After Death (Intro)
  2. Somebody's Gotta Die 
  3. Hypnotize
  4. Kick In The Door
  5. Fuck You Tonight (Featuring R. Kelly)
  6. Last Day (Featuring The Lox)
  7. I Love The Dough (Featuring Jay-Z & Angel Winbush)
  8. What's Beef
  9. B.I.G. (Interlude)
  10. Mo Money Mo Problems (Featuring Mase & Puff Daddy) 
  11. Niggas Bleed
  12. I Got A Story To Tell

Disc 2

  1. Notorious Thugs
  2. Miss U 
  3. Another (Featuring Lil' Kim) 
  4. Going Back To Cali
  5. Ten Crack Commandments
  6. Playa Hater
  7. Nasty Boy
  8. Sky's The Limit (Featuring 112)
  9. The World Is Filled... (Featuring Too Short & Puff Daddy)
  10. My Downfall (Featuring DMC)
  11. Long Kiss Goodnight
  12. You're Nobody (Til Somebody Kills You)
Sign in to comment

Added on: December 15, 2012