AOTY 2022
Fleshgod Apocalypse - King
Critic Score
Based on 5 reviews
2016 Ratings: #280 / 986
User Score
Based on 39 ratings
Liked by 3 people
February 5, 2016 / Release Date
LP / Format
Nuclear Blast / Label
Sign In to rate and review

After their stumble with Labyrinth, The epic death/techs came out with a orchestral vengeance, giving us an album not only worth listening to, but an album worth learning from. The clean vocals are leagues ahead and the musicianship have stepped forward with giant leaps. Fleetwood never left, but they are stronger than ever.


The use of harpsichord, opera singing, and classical compositional elements worked really well in this harrowing, fast-paced death metal album. My mother said it sounded like ogres running through the woods waving clubs overhead.

Purchasing King from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Marche Royale
  2. In Aeternum
  3. Healing Through War
  4. The Fool
  5. Cold as Perfection
  6. Mitra
  7. Paramour (Die Leidenschaft Bringt Leiden)
  8. And the Vulture Beholds
  9. Gravity
  10. A Million Deaths
  11. Syphilis
  12. King
  13. Marche Royale
  14. In Aeternum
  15. Healing Through War
  16. The Fool
  17. Cold as Perfection
  18. Mitra
  19. And the Vulture Beholds
  20. Gravity
  21. A Million Deaths
  22. Syphilis
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: January 19, 2016