AOTY 2021

The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me

Brand New - The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
Critic Score
Based on 11 reviews
2006 Ratings: #70 / 703
User Score
Based on 863 ratings
2006 Ratings: #4
Liked by 76 people
November 20, 2006 / Release Date
LP / Format
Interscope / Label
Mike Sapone, Brand New / Producer
Sign In to rate and review
As an uncharacteristic act of near-birthday positivity, I’ve decided to review all of my 10/10 albums, and where would be a better place to start than my favorite album of all time?

Don’t think I say that lightly. The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me has been an admired masterpiece in my eyes for years now; even when I first heard it at thirteen years old. Alongside my (frankly unhealthy) obsession with Sorority Noise, Remo Drive and The Hotelier at the time, hearing an album ... read more
The Cock and Balls are Bursting Inside Me
Edit: I forgot to mention this, but in order to be able to give it this very high score, I had to go through the whole thing without thinking about the bad thing that Jesse Lacey did, which is easier said than done when most times I listen to this album, its the only thing I can think about. The only reason it wasn't a 99 in the first place is because of the things he did, its so hard to get through an album when all you can think is "pedo". I DO NOT CONDONE HIS ACTIONS IN THE ... read more
one’ll love you so much
[Genre: Emo]

Yeah, it's emo music alright. Some seriously great emo music!

I have been familiar with Brand New but hadn't got to listening to any of their stuff, but The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me sure gave me a reason to do so! This album is believed to be one of the greatest emo albums of all time, and although I'm no expert on emo music I can absolutely see why. From start to finish, this album packs a punch with the heavy and lush instrumentation, Jesse Lacey's impactful vocals ... read more
Purchasing The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Sowing Season (Yeah)
  2. Millstone
  3. Jesus
  4. Degausser
  5. Limousine (MS Rebridge)
  6. You Won't Know
  7. Welcome to Bangkok
  8. Not the Sun
  9. Luca
  10. Untitled
  11. The Archers' Bows Have Broken
  12. Handcuffs 
Sign in to comment

Added on: December 31, 2012