Berberian Sound Studio

Broadcast - Berberian Sound Studio
Critic Score
Based on 17 reviews
User Score
Based on 3 ratings
January 8, 2013 / Release Date
Soundtrack / Format
Warp / Label
Electronic / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review


FACT Magazine

Berberian Sound Studio is a wonderful, intense and darkly beautiful legacy to Keenan’s unique character, and testament to the band’s continuing ability as their world changes.


Whilst there are ghosts from the past here, Berberian Sound Studio also provides strong reminders of Broadcast’s unique and idiosyncratic sound – which could range from the icy and detached to the curiously moving.

Drowned in Sound

Berberian Sound Studio is both a bona fide film score and consistent electronica album, and in the wake of Trish Keenan’s tragic death carries the very real air of a requiem.


Turns out the Birmingham band’s creepily beautiful style fits the film directed by Peter Strickland like a ghoulish glove.

A.V. Club

Berberian Sound Studio successfully builds on the spectral philosophy of Radio Age, and is even more of a radically disjointed tapestry of occult and funereal sound than that album was.


Berberian Sound Studio is all bone-chilling screams, deep red blood spilling across decaying celluloid, knives being raised pointedly in the air.


All in all, Berberian Sound Studio is a surprisingly complete and coherent effort, not simply for a soundtrack, but, frankly, more for the difficult conditions Cargill must’ve faced in bringing it to fruition.


Broadcast’s soundtrack for 'Berberian Sound Studio' is a triumph not just because it is inescapably aware of itself as a soundtrack but also serves as a fitting epitaph for the band’s singularity and vision throughout their all-too-brief career.

Under The Radar

Cargill's interspersion of snippets of sound and dialogue from the film adds considerably to the overall experience, providing chilling and entertaining context along the way

The Fly

This sinister, skittering collection is the perfect compliment to Peter Strickland’s marvellous film. 

Consequence of Sound

It particularly reflects how electronic treatment can make everyday sounds disturbingly alien. It works as a sound tapestry so that no single track stands out but all are stronger by being part of the whole.

Purchasing Berberian Sound Studio from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?



Track List

  1. A Breeze Through the Burford Spur
  2. The Equestrian Vortex
  3. Beautiful Hair
  4. Malleus Maleficarum
  5. Mark of the Devil
  6. Confession Modulation
  7. Monica's Fall
  8. Teresa's Song (Sorrow)
  9. The North Downs Dimension
  10. Collatina is Coming
  11. Such Tender Things
  12. Teresa, Lark of Ascension
  13. Monica's Burial (Under the Junipers) 
  14. Found Scalded, Found Drowned
  15. Monica (Her Parents Have Been Informed)
  16. The Fifth Claw
  17. Saducismus Triumphatus
  18. The Gallops
  19. They're Here, They're Under Us
  20. Collatina, Mark of Damnation
  21. Treatise
  22. A Goblin
  23. The Equestrian Library
  24. The Serpent's Semen
  25. Burnt at the Stake 
  26. All Chiffchaffs
  27. The Curfew After the Massacre
  28. Poultry In Mind
  29. The Sacred Marriage
  30. Valeria's Burial (Under the Fort)
  31. Edda's Burial (Under the Clumps)
  32. The Game's Up
  33. It Must've Been the Magpies
  34. The Dormitory Window
  35. Anima di Cristo
  36. His World is My Shed
  37. Collatina's Folly
  38. Here Comes the Sabbath, There Goes the Cross
  39. Our Darkest Sabbath
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: January 2, 2013