Violent by Design

Jedi Mind Tricks - Violent by Design
Critic Score
Based on 1 review
User Score
Based on 91 ratings
2000 Ratings: #40
Liked by 10 people
Sign In to rate and review


Jedi Mind Tricks are well-versed in contradictions. They know how to intimidate without gangsta pretensions and they know how to create menace without losing sight of humor or clarity.

If you dont like hardcore rap made to offend you I suggest you dont check out this album (due to the use of slurs). But this album is great. The production is top tier, with Stoupe proving himself to be one of the best producers of all time and this album has some of the best verses and rapping in hip hop However there are some cons, while they are extremely skilleed Vinnie paz and Jus allah are very repetitve rappers. Nearly all of what Vinnie talks about on this album is how he is going to ... read more


Updating this review to give a warning. This album can be edgy at times and it certainly does leave the hip hop community divided. If you can stomach those terrible rhymes there is an absolute gem of an album underneath. It’s also worth to point out the group isn’t remotely homophobic, i guess they were a product of their time. Early 2000’s a lot of rappers didn’t care what they said on the mic. Vinnie Paz has apparently gone on the record to say he has nothing against ... read more


Before this review, I should note, this album does have lots of homophobia in it. If you music with lyrics made to offend you, you prolly shouldn’t give this album a listen. For me, offensive lyrics in music doesn’t really bother me, although I can't blame anybody if they feel differently.

Obviously an essential for any backpacker nerd hip hop fan. Jus Allah's production is nice, and the rappers sound good here too, with Vinnie Paz being the obvious standout on the rapping side of ... read more

Purchasing Violent by Design from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Sappy, Lyell, CHSTR
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Intro
  2. Retaliation
  3. Contra
  4. Speech Cobras
  5. Breath of God Interlude
  6. Death March
  7. Words from Mr. Len Part One
  8. I Against I
  9. Exertions (Remix
  10. The Prophecy Interlude
  11. Heavenly Divine
  12. Sacrifice
  13. Permanent Midnight Interlude
  14. The Deer Hunter
  15. Blood Reign
  16. Words from Mr. Len Part Two
  17. Genghis Khan
  18. Trinity
  19. The Executioners Dream
  20. Muerte
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: March 15, 2016