Whitney - Light Upon The Lake
Light Upon The Lake
79
User Score (330)
Your Review
Reviews
Ratings
Jun 3, 2016
pstaggs
90
ALBUM OF THE WEEK (#1)

Like many* of the best albums that come out nowadays, Whitney’s debut record is nothing new, but is instead both a refinement of and a combination of many styles and ideas that have been explored before. The themes found in Light Upon the Lake are nothing new. The minute-long “na na” close-out on standout track “Golden Days” certainly isn’t a novel idea, either. The musical style itself dates all the way back to the 60’s and was ... read more
May 2, 2016
84
Best tracks: No Woman/Golden Days/Dave's Song/Polly
Worst tracks: The Falls
Apr 11, 2016
DiegoPaim01
85
Sólido debut. Dream/Indie Pop com elementos do Rock Alternativo? É possível, e o resultado é bem interessante. Com teclados, sintetizadores, trompetes e guitarra, sem esquecer das excelentes linhas de baixo e da produção um tanto quanto lo-fi, este grupo estabeleceu uma sonoridade muito original neste trabalho, que incrementa toda uma estética e abordagem sonora bem atual ao rock alternativo de outras horas. O resultado são ... read more
Apr 26, 2018
92
when the sun is shinning... put this on boyyyy.

julien is sick on drums
Mar 13, 2018
90
super soft tunes. perfect mix of happy upbeat music layered with trumpet solos and stitched together with downing vocals. very cool boys
Feb 23, 2018
94
MASTERPIECEEEEEEE
Sep 1, 2017
85
I Really loved this album! the lead singer's voice is so catchy! I'm looking forward to listening to more songs by this band!
Aug 15, 2017
StellaTheDiver
79
Fuck im late...

This album is the perfect combination of my mother's old 70's cds, Mac Demarco, a light beer, and an episode of the Muppet. In a summery; It's good, chill, somewhat melancholic, but obviously has its flaws.

Favs: No Woman, Golden Days, Polly
Jun 30, 2017
94
Really nostalgic
Jan 14, 2017
52
I tried to like this record more than a few times, and it never worked. What am I missing? Why was this one of the most acclaimed folk records of the year? The vocalist's tone is off-putting to me, and the songwriting doesn't seem remarkable. The melodies and arrangement seem very soft rock to me. Yet here I am looking at all of these end-of-year accolades from trustworthy sources, so I must be missing something.
Dec 15, 2016
Errandboy
57
Ya know, I think I would enjoy this record so much more if the singer just didn't use that weird falsetto. It annoys the hell out of me for some reason.
Dec 14, 2016
soundsnaive
89
Definitely one of my most listened to albums of 2017. I can't pinpoint any particular aspect of this album that justifies this rating... but I love it.
Dec 12, 2016
JFulfy
97
Top Summertime album - Beach music. Love it, great partnership.

Fav Tracks; Golden Days, No Matter Where We Go
Nov 23, 2016
Dads4TopGear
85
Sometimes not trying to reinvent the wheel is just fine. Gorgeous melodies feel as good as a summer breeze. Band plays so good live as well. One of the years best no doubt.
Nov 9, 2016
Felindie
85
Fav Tracks: No Woman, Follow, No Matter Where We Go, Golden Days
Oct 12, 2016
83
"Light Upon The Lake" reminds me of 2005. A time when Indie Rock was at it's peak of amazing talent. A year when I was in college downloading and delving into so many different bands that I couldn't keep up with what was my favorite song of that year.

Whitney is reminiscent of the best of that era of bands. A wholesome, seasonal record that makes you want to bundle up in some sweaters and scarves and go outside and enjoy the day. It's sunny, upbeat and a fun record. When you're ... read more
Sep 16, 2016
Sinestroll
93
★★★★★:
• No Woman
• Golden Days
• Dave's Song

Best Kermit Impression:
• No Woman
Sep 7, 2016
Leozao
88
The highs are spectacular but the lows are pretty forgettable... still it brings something refreshing and new to the table. Promising.
Aug 29, 2016
88
Everyone is either struggling through life, or lying to you about struggling through life. There is always something to dwell on, a relationship to grief over, and items to feel moody about. That being said, there is always an event to look forward to, and it's often critical to keep focus, even in moments of gloom. And that's what Whitney is able to encapsulate in his sound.

Favorite tracks: No Woman, Golden Days, Dave's Song, Red Moon
Aug 7, 2016
89
Bursting with melodic ear candy, Light Upon The Lake achieves the rare occurrence of smiling when you're the only one in the room, a set of hits that might prove to be the most timeless album of 2016.
Jul 11, 2016
Guigss
84
A smart indie pop debut.
Jul 4, 2016
70
It has highlights and strong production, but as an overall, I find this forgettable. That’s all I have to say.

Fav tracks: The Falls, Light Upon the Lake, Polly.
Least fav track: Golden Days.
Jun 22, 2016
sonicyouth
87
No doubt one of my favorite records of the year so far. Whitney gives us a combination of folk, country and indie rock which reminds you that everything will be alright in the end. There are so many small subtle things that make up this record which make it so warm and welcoming with a vibe that everyone can appreciate. It's an album that everyone could use in their life and it's definitely one that I needed, as cheesy as it sounds.

Favorite tracks: No Woman, The Falls, Golden Days, Dave's ... read more
Jun 22, 2016
raymon
85
This is the cool breezy indie rock record I was looking for during the summer. There is nothing really ambitious about this album but it doesn't need to be. This album is practically therapy. The melodies throughout are nothing but gorgeous. Altogether this album goes down smooth and will leave you with a smile on your face.
Jun 18, 2016
RandyXXX8
60
Whitney has a different sound and even pleasant, but I can not hear beyond that.
Jun 18, 2016
sourcherry24
90
A post-summer record that feels timeless and classic.
Jun 14, 2016
winitheju
83
Nothing overly original, but a fresh and enjoyable sound
Jun 12, 2016
Pitchkrof
80
this mixing needs more bass wtf
Jun 10, 2016
sebascors
20
Suena a Girls, con un toque de country y sin lo emocionante.
Jun 6, 2016
Fallendomino
82
"Light Upon The Lake" is a blend of tranquil, soft, summer smells and bright, uplifting grooves; it is emotionally rich, defiantly happy, and catchy as f**k.

Notable Songs: "No Woman"; "The Falls"; "Golden Days"; "Light Upon the Lake"; "No Matter Where We Go"; "Polly"
Jun 5, 2016
85
Eels with trumpets.
Jun 2, 2016
lemuriams
79
Whitney Houston new album i cant wait
showing 1 - 32 of 32 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
35

80-89
 
173

70-79
 
81

60-69
 
22

50-59
 
12

40-49
 
4

30-39
 
1

20-29
 
1

10-19
 
1

0-9
 

88%of users like this album
1%of users don't like this album
Popular Albums
Ariana Grande - Sweetener
Ariana Grande
Sweetener
Mitski - Be the Cowboy
Mitski
Be the Cowboy
Nicki Minaj - Queen
Nicki Minaj
Queen
Aminé - ONEPOINTFIVE
Aminé
ONEPOINTFIVE
Animal Collective - Tangerine Reef
Animal Collective
Tangerine Reef
Denzel Curry - TA13OO
Denzel Curry
TA13OO

August Playlist
AOTY Discord
Forums