Skepta - Konnichiwa
Konnichiwa
75
User Score (256)
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review
Reviews
Ratings
100
Didnt expect less from Skepta, has amazing songs on there and i loved all expect ladies hit the squad ( still i enjoyed Skeppys part but the other 2 musicians dont sound good with skepta or the beat, unly JME or Pharrel Williams on their features)
Never expected such an "emotional" song from skepta , so Text me Back got me crazy.
The most exciting thing that i noticed a few days ago on this album was on the song "ladies hit the squad", because on the last 30 secons of the ... read more
snucus
NR
não gosto :(
Pitchkrof
80
yo
(el dot)
smithy boy
(money my squad)
check it, man
YO, SAFE WEE
(wa wa wee wa)
yoo
Brendo
95
Skepta's rapping on here is above average, but the best part of Konnichiwa is the amazing grime production on every single track (although, Numbers is kind of annoying).
BruhMan
86
FAV: Lyrics, Crime Riddim, It Ain't Safe, Ladies Hit Squad, Numbers, Man (Gang), Shutdown, That's Not Me, Detox & Text Me Back

LEAST: Konichiwa
TheBravesDH
78
Grime comeback in full force. I think he thought he was getting a different member of A$AP though.
CheapandLethal
70
Worth a listen
CxAylward
65
these songs are all so tight with like zero fat, but we've heard half of these songs already and we really needed new stuff from this guy at this point
exception
53
someone please tell me what records made this guy famous, because telling from this, i cant believe it. very lackluster release from the up and coming grime scene of this year.
amygoodall
70
good
75
1: 7.6/10
2: 7.7/10
3: 7.5/10
4: 7.3/10
5: 6.3/10
6: 6.4/10
7: 6.8/10
8: 9.1/10
9: 8.3/10
10: 8/10
11: 7.6/10
12: 7.1/10
DalekTurret32
90
Konnichiwa [93]
Lyrics [90]
Corn On The Curb [88]
Crime Riddim [92]
It Ain't Safe [94]
Ladies Hit Squad [76] (-)
Numbers [90]
Man [92]
Shutdown [97]
That's Not Me [96]
Detox [88]
Text Me Back [86]

Top 5:

5. Man
4. Konnichiwa
3. It Ain't Safe
2. That's Not Me
1. Shutdown
dntspr
93
Konnichiwa // 93
Lyrics (feat Novelist) // 92
Corn On The Curb (feat Wiley & Chip) // 92
Crime Riddim // 87
It Aint Safe (feat Young Lord) // 94
Ladies Hit Squad (feat D Double E & A$AP Nast) // 90
Numbers (feat Pharrell Williams) // 87
Man // 93
Shutdown // 98
That’s Not Me (feat Jme) // 100
Detox (feat BBK) // 98
Text Me Back // 97
CocoCrisper
75
For some reason, the two tracks with American rappers are among the worst on the album.
lkatz1109
85
BEST: it ain't safe, konnichiwa, man, shutdown, crime riddin, lyrics, that's not me, detox

WORST: ladies hit squad
92
I will always love this album.
81
Corn on the Curb is one of the strongest songs I've heard from this decade, it has an almost 2 minute skit, but that does not ruin the first 3 and a half minutes. God damn that song goes hard. Skepta and WIley just go verse after verse with little rest in between throughout the song. The rest of the album is also very consistent. The skits and the song with Pharrell are weak points, but overall, Konnichiwa is definitely a grower.
SeaBass
87
Credited with bringing grime back in full force, Skepta brought a hard hitting album that “broke down a few more barricades, Got me a few more accolades”, including bagging the Mercury Prize over Bowie and Radiohead. It’s a personal album full of strengths and insecurities, he’s in between his world and the mainstream, bringing personality, grit and emotion.
73
Fav tracks: Lyrics, Shutdown
raymon
77
It's a cool listen. Skepta brings some new energy to grime rap and probably exposes it more to Americans through this album. However, I felt it wasn't the greatest project. Some tracks felt underdeveloped or average. However, I do think it is an enjoyable record for the most part.
Obese_Beast
78
back to back to back bangers; does get a little repetitive in the middle though.

Best Sons: Konnichiwa, Lyrics, Numbers, Man (gang), Shutdown
Leozao
83
Confess i went to give it a look after being rewarded the mercury prize.

Im impressed. Great stuff, indeed. Not to mention that rewarding a grime artist is a great incentive for this local british genre. Smart.
zaxapitsa
NR
Interesante, pero no lo volvería a escuchar.
arturostacey
30
can't understand how critics has given this a good rating
noonoo97
65
Nothing different or interesting from Skepta. The Beats throughout are extremely similar and simple topped off with a mixture of boring traps and some ok lyrics. Nothing special the fire in Skepta has seemed to fade and artistically this album is lacking. "Man" is a highlight in this album.
81
Fire
showing 1 - 26 of 26 user reviews

RATING DISTRIBUTION
90-100
 
19

80-89
 
82

70-79
 
102

60-69
 
40

50-59
 
7

40-49
 
1

30-39
 
1

20-29
 
3

10-19
 

0-9
 
1

79%of users like this album
2%of users don't like this album
Popular Albums
Little Simz - GREY Area
Little Simz
GREY Area
Dave - Psychodrama
Dave
Psychodrama
CHAI - PUNK
CHAI
PUNK
Matmos - Plastic Anniversary
Matmos
Plastic Anniversary
Karen O & Danger Mouse - Lux Prima
Karen O & Danger Mouse
Lux Prima
The Comet Is Coming - Trust in the Lifeforce of the Deep Mystery
The Comet Is Coming
Trust in the Lifeforce of the Deep Mystery

March Playlist
AOTY Discord
Forums
Vinyl Me, Please