Louder Than Bombs

The Smiths - Louder Than Bombs
Critic Score
Based on 3 reviews
User Score
Based on 162 ratings
Liked by 6 people
March 30, 1987 / Release Date
Compilation / Format
Rough Trade / Sire / Label
Sign In to rate and review
Solid, with some extremely low points

"Hatful of Hollow" is in my opinion, the greatest compilation album of all time, and I think this compilation right here is also extremely solid.

Songs like "Ask", "Panic" and "Is It Really So Strange?" three songs that are some of the best the band has made, other really amazing and important songs inside their discography like "Asleep" and "Sheila, Take A Bow", also, some amazing B-sides that ... read more
Don't have a full review for this yet, but allow me to say that "Asleep" is perhaps the greatest song ever recorded, by any artist, ever.
The best compilation of the Smiths in general, you can take this along with The Queen Is Dead and Hatful of Hollow and have all the Smiths you will ever need to understand why they were such critical darlings. Covering mostly the latter singles of the band's short career, there is very little overlap between this and Hatful of Hollow. The fact that both compilations contained a fair number of singles AND b-sides really speaks to the care the band put into creating their singles as artistic ... read more
Louder Than Bombs is the final compilation of The Smiths right before their last LP released and it feels as though they handled this release with nothing but care.

The mastering and mixing is phenomenal for B-sides and they genuinely sound as though they were apart of an album. It sounds incredibly professional and the production and sound of everything is at peak quality when it comes to unused material.

As for the material on the record itself varies in an incredible way. They have a mix ... read more
My favourite compilation by any artist. It peaks at the few melancholic ending songs.
Purchasing Louder Than Bombs from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List


  1. Is It Really So Strange?
  2. Sheila Take a Bow
  3. Shoplifters of the World Unite
  4. Sweet and Tender Hooligan
  5. Half a Person
  6. London
  7. Girl Afraid
  8. Shakespeare's Sister
  9. William, It Was Really Nothing
  10. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
  11. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
  12. Ask
  13. Golden Lights
  14. Oscillate Wildly
  15. These Things Take Time
  16. Rubber Ring
  17. Back to the Old House
  18. Hand in Glove
  19. Stretch Out and Wait
  20. Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want
  21. This Night Has Opened My Eyes
  22. Unloveable
  23. Asleep


Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: February 4, 2013