The Ascension of Slow Dakota

Slow Dakota - The Ascension of Slow Dakota
Critic Score
Based on 3 reviews
User Score
Based on 53 ratings
2016 Ratings: #28
Liked by 6 people
Sign In to rate and review
This is such beautiful music, certainly one of the most beautiful and original albums of this year. Many more should hear this.. WOW
The sort of album you know will only be fully appreciated 10, maybe 20 years from now.

Hard to tell if the music - or the poetry - is more beautiful. "The Ascension" nestles in between so many poles: local and global, amateurish and refined, language and music, somewhere between heaven and earth.. "In a Pigsty" and "The Lilac Bush" are standouts. The album ends first with a bang ("The Whale Vomits the Three Onto Dry Land"), and then a soft, beautiful ... read more
There are some interesting ideas and songs throughout the record (such as "In a Pigsty"), but something just didn't quite click. I still liked it! I probably should relisten.
Honestly incredible
An intelligently preconceived work of art combining poetry, neo classical and art rock that really makes you contemplate things.
Purchasing The Ascension of Slow Dakota from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. A Competition
  2. The Lilac Bush
  3. Paul, Pining for His Wife
  4. Magnificat
  5. For My Friend
  6. The Magi Visit Farmer Lee
  7. I Am Held Together
  8. An Exile's Theory
  9. I Saw Christ Crying in Hermès
  10. Proverbs, After Vangelis
  11. A Mistranslation
  12. In a Pigsty
  13. Paul, This Time with a Dulcimer
  14. The Tooth Fairy
  15. John of Patmos
  16. A Third Enters the Belly of the Whale
  17. Bürstner Rebukes the New Arrival: His Rebuttal
  18. The Whale Vomits the Three onto Dry Land
  19. Whitman Crossing the Sky to Spain
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: July 25, 2016