13 Degrees of Reality

The Heliocentrics - 13 Degrees of Reality
Critic Score
Based on 7 reviews
2013 Ratings: #461 / 1023
User Score
Based on 4 ratings
April 30, 2013 / Release Date
LP / Format
Now Again / Label
Acid Jazz / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Sign In to rate and review


The 405

It would be easy to call this a straight up psychedelic / freak record, but the elements found at the very core of these songs are as diverse as you could ever fathom.


Though it may puzzle initially, its substance is such that it creates a mysterious and compelling listening experience that assures one that more will be revealed.


t's got the breadth of a comprehensively adventurous band, able to balance a steady motorik churn midway between Kraut and deep soul while letting the pull of improvisational tangents and dub distortion shift the picture. 


At their best, The Heliocentrics sculpt claustrophobic and tense sound worlds that both seduce and unnerve.

Purchasing 13 Degrees of Reality from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
thisisabtlgrnd, philthy
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Feedback (Intro)
  2. Ethnicity
  3. Public Safety
  4. Mysterious Ways
  5. Dreams
  6. Collateral Damage
  7. Outtake (Interlude)
  8. Freeness Part 2
  9. Wrecking Ball (Prelude)
  10. Wrecking Ball
  11. Mind Readers
  12. Descarga Electronica
  13. A Musical Conspiracy (Interlude)
  14. Eastern Begena
  15. Hall Of Mirrors (Interlude)
  16. Mr. Owusu, I Presume?
  17. The Abstract & The Absolute (Interlude)
  18. Black Sky
  19. Prepare For Lift-Off (Interlude)
  20. Path Of The Black Sun
  21. Calabash
  22. Vibrations Of Fallen Angels (Outro)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: May 2, 2013