Bosnian Rainbows

Bosnian Rainbows - Bosnian Rainbows
Critic Score
Based on 8 reviews
2013 Ratings: #476 / 958
User Score
Based on 26 ratings
2013 Ratings: #251
June 25, 2013 / Release Date
LP / Format
Sargent House / Label
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review



Rather than use his booster-pack of creative freedom to go even further towards the asylum, ‘Bosnian Rainbows’ finds Omar in controlled, more conventional territory than he has been in a while.


Without a weak song on board, Bosnian Rainbows is a daring, excellent debut that is as compelling as it is ambitious.


Bosnian Rainbows reins in some of Rodriguez-Lopez’s wiry guitar splatter, opting for buzzy new wave synths and soft-focus drums. The results are mixed. With the exception of a few songs, the album tends to fade into the massive sea of post-rock and new wave revivalists.

Consequence of Sound

Bosnian Rainbows finds a new band of old friends at a dusty intersection where every direction’s a solid and amicable choice.

A.V. Club

Bosnian Rainbows combines a lot of elements together, but it sometimes feels that they’re not sure which way they want to go.

Too calm and safe of an album considering the members of this group. It's pretty straightforward psychedelic rock with some interesting chord progressions here and there, but it's nothing really great as a whole.

Favourite tracks: Dig Right in Me, Morning Sickness, Torn Maps, Mother, Father, Set Us Free
Omar Rodriguez, appointed dictator of The Mars Volta, said he did not want to be a dictator anymore, so Bosnian Rainbows is the first collaborative album that he has recorded in over a thousand years. Still, this album is not without its eccentricities, for example, Deantoni Parks plays drums and keyboard simultaneously, basically because he can and because Fuck You. Bosnian Rainbows manages to mix punk with electronics in surreal ways. A rare, but thrilling combination.
Purchasing Bosnian Rainbows from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?

Track List

  1. Eli 
  2. Worthless 
  3. Dig Right In Me 
  4. The Eye Fell In Love 
  5. I Cry For You
  6. Morning Sickness 
  7. Torn Maps
  8. Turtle Neck
  9. Always On The Run 
  10. Red 
  11. Mother, Father, Set Us Free
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.
In Library (2)
Contributions By
thisisabtlgrnd, patton, erik

Added on: June 25, 2013