Janelle Monáe - The Electric Lady
Critic Score
Based on 36 reviews
2013 Ratings: #44 / 1035
Year End Rank: #21
User Score
Based on 527 ratings
2013 Ratings: #39
Liked by 10 people
September 10, 2013 / Release Date
LP / Format
Bad Boy/Universal / Label
R&B, Funk / Genres
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
www.jmonae.com / Website
Sign In to rate and review


The 405

The Electric Lady features so many different styles yet each one is done near perfectly. Moving between genres is seamless and each track is so full of character as a result of this diversity, the exemplary arrangements and, of course, Monáe herself leading the way.


The Electric Lady is also a dazzling artistic statement, a fiendlishly clever album that oozes enough feminine charm, wit and charisma to endow dozens of regular pop starlets with.


What could be unwieldy becomes a vast patchwork of influences buoying empowerment.

The Line of Best Fit

All in all, it is one of the most exceptionally realised albums to enter the world since her last release, and confirms that both as an artist and a role-model Monáe really ought to be celebrated as Electric Lady number one.


This is smart, intelligent, thought-provoking music. And it will make you want to dance.

No Ripcord

Janelle Monáe has not simply lived up to our expectations here; she has shattered them, delivering a confident, creative, and enormously entertaining record that marginally betters her sublime debut.


Taken as a whole, The Electric Lady is a convincing argument for the virtues of micromanagement, but some of the most powerful, tender moments come from acknowledging  limits.

Pretty Much Amazing

Janelle Monáe thankfully narrows her sonic scope on The Electric Lady, her equally epic and frequently wonderful second album.

A.V. Club

The songs themselves are undeniably empowering without being especially overt or sloganeering about it; where Beyoncé claims that girls run the world, Monáe has gone ahead and created her own world, one with her own rules.


The album is admirably steeped in pop music history without seeming derivative and where The Electric Lady triumphs is in its ability to connect with the listener. 

Consequence of Sound

It’s a very large world, but one stocked with charming character, tasty pop, and enlightening lyricism that shines like an electric heart through the android framework.


Monae transcends what we’ve come to see and hear from current Pop stars.

FACT Magazine

Each homage is perfectly realised, and for an artist whose conceptualism has been decried as having a distancing effect, Monáe has visceral passion and crackling emotional immediacy to burn.

The Fly

It’s a rare treat to feel so included by an album, and even more so for an artist to work so hard on achieving that inclusion. This isn’t her masterpiece (that’s to come in the sixth and seventh suites), but it’s only a sliver away.


It is possible to love The Electric Lady, even if deep listening may be required to seal the deal. She certainly works hard for our devotion.

☆☆☆☆ 1/2

Janelle Motherfunking Monáe... where the hell do I start with this woman, man?

Okay, so before I delve into the quality of the record at hand, I think it's important for me to shed some light on my personal experience with this artist. More specifically what an album like "The ArchAndroid" has done for me.

Ugh. There are about a hundred other things I haven't put into that review, weeks of having that project on loop has only lead to it crawling eerily ... read more
Relistened. Holy shit this is way better than I remember. Might be a masterpiece.

P.S.: If your pussy/bussy doesn't pop all the way to the fucking ozone layer at 3:27 on Ghetto Woman, then you're not human. Sorry about the bad news.
* Suite IV Electric Overture (8/10)
* Givin' 'En What They Love (9/10)
* Q.U.E.E.N. (10/10)
* Electric Lady (10/10)
* Good Morning Midnight (NA)
* Primetime (8.5/10)
* We Were Rock and Roll (9/10)
* The Chrome Shoppe (NA)
* Dance Apocalyptic (8/10)
* Look Into My Eyes (8.5/10)
* Suite V Electric Overture (9/10)
* It's Code (7.5/10)
* Ghetto Woman (8/10)
* Our Favorite Fugitive (NA)
* Victory (9/10)
* Can't Live Without Your Love (8.5/10)
* Sally Ride (9/10)
* Dorothy Dandridge Eyes (8.5/10)
* ... read more
One of the greatest album EVER!
awesome great cool features prince erykah badu and solange miguel
Purchasing The Electric Lady from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Suite IV: Electric Overture
  2. Givin Em What They Love [ft. Prince]
  3. Q.U.E.E.N. [ft. Erykah Badu]
  4. Electric Lady [ft. Solange]
  5. Good Morning Midnight (Interlude)
  6. PrimeTime [ft. Miguel]
  7. We Were Rock and Roll
  8. The Chrome Shoppe (Interlude)
  9. Dance Apocalyptic
  10. Look Into My Eyes
  11. Suite V: Electric Overture
  12. It's Code
  13. Ghetto Woman
  14. Our Favorite Fugitive (Interlude)
  15. Victory
  16. Can’t Live Without Your Love
  17. Sally Ride
  18. Dorothy Dandridge Eyes [ft. Esperanza Spalding]
  19. What an Experience
  20. Q.U.E.E.N. [feat. Erykah Badu] [Wondamix] (Bonus)
  21. Electric Lady [feat. Big Boi and Cee-Lo Green] [Dungeon-Wondamix] (Bonus)
  22. HYTB (Bonus)
  23. I Want You Back (Bonus)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: June 28, 2013