Mountain Moves
Deerhoof - Mountain Moves
Critic Score
Based on 12 reviews
2017 Ratings: #195 / 668
User Score
Based on 41 ratings
2017 Ratings: #352
September 8, 2017 / Release Date
LP / Format
Joyful Noise / Label
Indie Rock / Genres / Website
Your Review


God Is in the TV

Given that the collaborations on this album, mixed with some covers, it’s a record that in lesser hands could have ended up a well-intentioned but ultimately disappointing aural mess. Instead of which, over the course of three-quarters of an hour, it’s like walking into Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory in terms of listenable treats.

Drowned in Sound

Even for four individuals well accustomed to dazzling change, Mountain Moves is a metamorphosis unlike any other. If last year’s The Magic was a spontaneous snap of fairy dust in the studio, Mountain Moves is a surround-sound incantation in a global arena.


Musically, you could view Deerhoof as a sort of sonic version of a lenticular image: the style of the music depends on how you approach it.


This influx of new voices finds Deerhoof exploring a number of different styles and sounds, all the while keeping that chaotic exuberance they are known for. 

Loud and Quiet

Exploring fresh musical territories without leaving tradition behind following a two-decade career, ‘Mountain Moves’ is the LP of a band at their peek.


Mountain Moves' whimsy often feels like a party that just happens to be political, but it's this sense of joy that makes protest -- and Deerhoof's career -- sustainable.


Mountain Moves is one of Deerhoof’s widest-ranging and most melodic sets, with hints of chamber music, hip-hop, and avant-garde jazz, plus more legible lyrics than usual. It’s a purposeful mosaic.

A.V. Club

If Mountain Moves occasionally feels disconnected, it’s because the theme upon which it hinges—injustice—is, sadly, still as broadly defined as it gets. Fortunately, that disconnectedness makes for a bright, lively listen—a message of life, hope, and diversity in a world that still needs to hear it.

Under The Radar

It's a good sign when the opening seconds of an album sound cool enough to just loop and repeat, and Deerhoof pull that off on Mountain Moves, their fourteenth album. 

The Line of Best Fit

Deerhoof have simply outdone themselves with Mountain Moves, an album that requires as much focus as it does imagination.

‘Mountain Moves’ lacks the cutting edge usually found on Deerhoof projects, but it’s still a very sincere album, with just about enough life in it to make for a gratifying listen.

As usual, there’s probably a few too many ideas here and the band trip up on them occasionally - but if they didn’t, it wouldn’t be much of a Deerhoof record.

Jan 11, 2018
Worth a listen
Sep 12, 2017
Purchasing Mountain Moves from Amazon helps support Album of the Year.
Track List
  1. Slow Motion Detonation (feat. Juana Molina)
  2. Con Sordino
  3. I Will Spite Survive (feat. Jenn Wasner)
  4. Come Down Here & Say That (feat. Laetitia Sadier)
  5. Gracias a la Vida (Violeta Parra)
  6. Begin Countdown
  7. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You (feat. Awkwafina)
  8. Ay That's Me
  9. Palace of the Governors
  10. Singalong Junk (feat. Xenia Rubinos)
  11. Mountain Moves (feat. Matana Roberts)
  12. Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers)
  13. Sea Moves (feat. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
  14. Kokoye
  15. Small Axe (Bob Marley)
Contributions By
thisisabtlgrnd, patton

Added on: June 28, 2017